Posters and Paintings in my Room

In my room at college, I have posters of Wicked, Phantom of the Opera, and Pippin and two paintings with quotes from Les Mis. I love all four musicals and they all bring something unique to the musical world. In this post I will talk about why I love each of these musicals.

Wicked- this was the musical of the four that I have loved the longest. It has been part of my for eleven years and was the first musical I saw on Broadway. Everything about this musical feels Ozian. The dancing, the spectacle, the songs, character names all feel Ozian. Now I love the musical for the dance, spectacle, songs, characters, and story. The center core of Wicked is friendship, which is between Elphaba and Glinda and then on top of that there is the complex, mature, and strong love triangle where the two best friends are involved, who are both in love with Fiyero. These three characters are the characters I find the biggest emotional connection to.

I have such a strong emotional connection to Wicked. I began to understand the emotional nature through Wicked. So Wicked has changed me for the better and sparked my love for musicals.

fullsizeoutput_749

Phantom of the Opera- I first heard the songs in 2013, but did not see the musical until 2014. I find this musical to be both haunting and beautiful. The plot is basically a dark and mysterious and beautiful love triangle between the Phantom, Raoul, and Christine. Its songs are gorgeous and is spellbinding and when I saw it for the first time, I was choked up. Raoul and Christine make up such a beautiful couple, which is part of the reason why I love both of them. What makes the Phantom so interesting is that he is so mysterious and dark.

fullsizeoutput_748

Pippin- I first saw this musical two years ago. It was “Corner of the Sky” that got me interested in seeing the musical. This musical uses circus elements for the spectacle and that is one reason why it is unique. Like Wicked, it is a Stephen Swartz musical so it has an incredible score. Its antagonist, the Leading Player, is the narrator of the piece, which is interesting and she is such an intriguing characters because she is so crafty, manipulative, dark and at times playful. She is even more intriguing then the protagonist, Pippin, who is trying to find where he belongs.

fullsizeoutput_74b

Les Mis- there is lots to say when it comes to this musical, which would turn my love of musicals into a passion. Les Mis taught me that tragic musicals exist and yes, I already discovered the emotion of sad before Les Mis, but this musical brought me to the emotion of heartbreak. It has an emotional nature that is so powerful that it is so hard to describe its capability level. This story feels so human so I find the center core of this musical to be about humanity. Its score is brilliant and well-crafted and reduces me to tears. Its characters are so complex and incredible, which range from the ex-convict and compassionate Jean Valjean, the obsessive and strict Javert, the loving and tragic Fantine, the innocent Cosette, the sweet, revolutionary and romantic Marius, the brave and loyal Eponine, the greedy and neglectful Thenardiers, and the passionate Enjolras . There are so many ways I love this musical.

fullsizeoutput_747

But what do all four of these have in common? For starters, the most obvious is that they have songs I love, which is the first step to loving a musical. Found within the story is a romance aspects-only one of them does not have a love triangle, which is Pippin. They all share the emotions of excitement, love, and joy. It is amazing how varied their plots and characters and songs are. One of them has a score that feel Ozian, one has a score that is so haunting and beautiful and the other one has a passionate, epic and powerful score.

Author: mphadventuregirl

I am a strong spiritual person who is a big fan of musicals. This blog deals with spirituality and musicals. I am finding that by writing about these, I am realizing I know more about each of them then I think I do. I hope you find my blog inspiring!

4 thoughts on “Posters and Paintings in my Room”

    1. When I look at Wicked, Phantom of the Opera, Pippin and Les Mis found in my suite room, it is amazing at when they entered my life. Wicked being part of my life eleven years, Phantom of the Opera starting its journey when I first listened to the soundtrack in 2013 and then became a true fan in 2014 when I saw the stage show for the first time, Les Mis beginning its journey in December of 2012 and becoming a true fan in 2013, then Pippin entering my life in May of 2015 when I saw it live

      Like

Leave a Reply

