My Reading of This Summer

This summer, I have read nine books in all, which consists of four different genres, which are classic, mystery, fantasy, and nonfiction. The books are Oliver Twist, A Clearing in the Forest, Five Little Pigs, The Hundred Story Home, Same Kind of Different as Me, The Land of Stories: Beyond the Kingdoms, Land of Stories: The Author’s Odyssey, Queen of the Tearling, and 150 Years of Musical Theatre. Below I will try to describe what I thought of each of these books.

Oliver Twist: was a very easy classic to read, but still difficult. Grow fond of Oliver pretty quickly and loved the innocence and goodness found in him and glad he was able to keep that even when in the hands of Fagin and Sikes. This will be a nice classic to read someday if you are a fan of the classics.

A Clearing in the Forest: I read this so quickly. It was quite enjoyable and loved how the main character was able to figure things out. She had to figure things out alone for the most part. This is a good book to read if you want a quick fantasy book.

Five Little Pigs: the main problem with this book is I thought it was odd that a mystery was being solved sixteen years after the murder that the book centers around. The daughter of the mother wanted to prove that her mother was innocent of the supposed murder of her husband’s murder. Other than being solved sixteen years after the murder, it still was a nice read.

Land of Stories (Beyond the Kingdoms/ Author’s Odyssey): I will group these two books together. I have enjoyed reading the series for some time now. I loved seeing how the stories continued. In Beyond the Kingdoms, Alex and Conner were starting to get together an army from works of fiction such as Peter Pan, Alice in Wonderland, and Wizard of Oz in order to fight against the masked. In the Author’s Odyssey, the twist continued getting together an army, but they instead used some of Conner’s works. To get through in these works, the twins used a magic portal portion. These books will only be enjoyable if you start at the beginning of the entire series.

One Hundred Story Home: This was an incredible story of how one women housed many chronically homeless men and women. Even though I don’t like nonfiction, I still enjoyed reading it especially because of my passion for wanting to give back to those living in poverty.

Same Kind of Different As Me: I read this book since it was brought up in One Hundred Story Home. This is the story of how a homeless man became friends with a non-homeless man. It all started when Ron Hall, encouraged by Deborah (his wife), to volunteer at Urban Ministry Center. Ron Hall eventually became friends with Denver Moore, who at first was not that interested in that couple. But eventually he decided to be friends with Ron. So again, I am not a fan of nonfiction, but it shows that the homeless are the same as everyone else, but at the same time different and enjoyed it due to that passion I have for giving back to the poverty population.

Queen of the Tearling: This was my first time starting the series. I loved the main character, Kelesa, but I had some trouble with this book. There were times where it felt like there was plot development, but at times it felt dragged. I loved the nature of the two necklaces that Kelsea wore.I honestly by the end of it couldn’t really decide if I want to continue the series or not.

150 Years of Musical Theatre: This was the last book I read and this was such an incredible book. It talked about the origins of musical theatre, which started with Paris Comic Opera and ended about talking about Rent. It brought up some very well-known musicals like West Side Story, Anything Goes, Les Misérables, Phantom of the Opera, Cats,  Sound of Music, South Pacific, Oklahoma, King and I, Chorus Line, Annie, and Annie Get Your Gun. For any fan of musical theatre, this is a must read.

Author: mphadventuregirl

I am a strong spiritual person who is a big fan of musicals. This blog deals with spirituality and musicals. I am finding that by writing about these, I am realizing I know more about each of them then I think I do. I hope you find my blog inspiring!

7 thoughts on “My Reading of This Summer”

      1. I would have read less books if Oliver Twist took longer to read. That book was sort of the main book for the summer since I challenge myself to read a classic over the summer. So that book only took two weeks so I had time to add in eight other books

        Like

Leave a Reply

