1st Year Anniversary of Newsies

Newsies has reached a milestone in my journey with it. I have been in love with it for a year. I first saw it last August with my family and fell in love with it. It is the newest musical soundtrack that I own. My favorite song from Newsies is “Seize the Day”. This musical is a Disney musical. It is about the Newsboy Strike of 1899 when a group of Newsies went on strike after Pulitzer raised the price of their paper from 50 cents per one hundred papers to sixty cents per one hundred papers.

The relationship found among the Newsies is incredible. They support each other and they are this one family with Jack Kelly being the leader of them all. My favorite of all the Newsies are Jack and Crutchie and I love the close bond these two Newsies have for each other. Jack is quite protective of Crutchie especially because Crutchie has a bum leg and they are best friends. Katherine Plumber ends up being the reporter for the strike and she and Jack fall in love. Jack and Katherine are one of my favorite musical couples and I have fallen in love with that couple because of the magical and gorgeous and heartfelt “something to believe in”.

The songs are so incredible because they are fun and so catchy and at times the songs have a more vulnerable and emotional feel. The dancing in this show is mind-blowing so I am not surprised it won the Tony for best choreography and dancing is always something I am looking for in a musical. One of my favorite lyrics is “courage cannot erase our fear. courage is when we face our fear”. The songs are dealing with positive and negative emotions and that type of score is something I look for in a musical.

Below are links to two posts I wrote about Newsies.

https://megsdailymusings.wordpress.com/2016/08/27/the-world-will-know/

https://megsdailymusings.wordpress.com/2016/08/13/seize-the-day/

Do you love Newsies? If so, why do you love it? If you have not seen Newsies, what is your favorite Disney musical?

Author: mphadventuregirl

I am a strong spiritual person who is a big fan of musicals. This blog deals with spirituality and musicals. I am finding that by writing about these, I am realizing I know more about each of them then I think I do. I hope you find my blog inspiring!

5 thoughts on “1st Year Anniversary of Newsies”

  1. I love Newsies! The score is so beautiful, and although I have never seen it live, I hope to someday!
    I do love Newsies, but my favorite Disney musical of all time is probably Beauty and the Beast.

    Like

    1. I love it when a musical reaches its one year anniversary with you. Newsies is such a wonderful musical with incredible music and characters and inspiring plot. The dance is mind-blowing and is one of the reasons why I love the musical

      Like

    1. The dance is worth seeing. Newsies-hard to believe it actually is based off of a true story.

      Jack and Katherine are one of my newest favorite couples. I love the bond found among all the Newsies. Relationships are also important to me when it comes to a musical. The Newsies is like this family and they support each other.

      Like

Leave a Reply

