What Makes me Fall in Love with a Musical Couple?

Yes, I am back on talking about romance in musicals. I may have mentioned favorite couples and why I love them, but I don’t know if I ever talked about what makes me fall in love with musical couples. Some I have mentioned why and some I have. There are still couples that I love, but don’t know why I love them. But what is the secret behind falling in love with musical couples?

I think the secret behind falling in love with a musical couple is their main song. Elphaba and Fiyero have “As Long As Your’e Mine”, Raoul and Christine have “All I Ask of You”, Belle and Beast have “Beauty and the Beast” and Jack and Katherine have “Something to Believe In”. I always tend to fall in love with a musical couple if I love their main song.

Their main song is the moment where you realize that the two characters have fallen in love. Sometimes you could be watching the rest of the musical, but may not even realize that two characters are falling in love with each other. But when the main song happens, you become aware of their romance. You end up feeling for the two of them and you feel moved. Love is one of the main musical emotions and it is also the biggest theme I have been around.

But sometimes I take other things into consideration. For instance, I understand that Cosette and Marius help provide light to Les Mis and because I understand that, I have fallen in love with the couple and I love “A Heart Full of Love”. So I have nothing wrong with how the love triangle is set up. By the end of Les Mis, they both have lost important people in their lives, but at least they still have each other.

Unknown

I am always asked why do I love romance in musicals and sometimes am asked why do I love anything around the lines of a love triangle. That is something I have a hard time answering. I feel like love translates well to song and is a very universal emotion and that also connects to why I love the love triangles since love triangles are universal as well. Romance is never just added in a musical “just because” of time. I feel like it is in there to make you feel more for the characters, which is the same reason why the emotions of sad and heartbreak are in musicals.

For me, a musical couple provides an emotional feel to a musical. If a love triangle is involved, it provides more of an emotional texture. Some love triangles are more complex than others. When I think of a musical couple, I tend to think of their main song. Other love songs include “Can You Feel the Love Tonight”, “I Should Tell You”, “Love Song”, “Till There Was You”, “A Whole New World”, “Something Good”,  and “Some Enchanted Evening”.

Also for a musical like “Music Man”, you need romance. That musical is full of positive emotions and giving it romance gives the musical an emotional feel. For me, if you can understand why a musical has romance, then it works. In a Disney musical, love feels magical and their love songs tend to feel magical. A lot of couples tend to be young so the love songs tend to be feel youthful and innocent and some young couples are more mature than others.

About the love triangles, I feel like they have worked nicely in the musicals I have seen them in. They help provide wonderful emotional textures. They can be mysterious and dark, but angelic and beautiful, can be full of hope and light, but filled with heartbreak and pain and can be complex and strong, but ironic and shocking.

What makes you love a musical couple?

Author: mphadventuregirl

I am a strong spiritual person who is a big fan of musicals. This blog deals with spirituality and musicals. I am finding that by writing about these, I am realizing I know more about each of them then I think I do. I hope you find my blog inspiring!

5 thoughts on “What Makes me Fall in Love with a Musical Couple?”

  1. I’m with you 100% on that. It’s got to be the right song. That was kind of the final nail in the coffin of La La Land. A Lovely Night was a good song but in the film it just didn’t have the needed impact. Overall I wasn’t a fan of the film which is supposed to be the closest thing to a modern musical. What did you make of it?

    Like

Leave a Reply

