What is Home?

What is home?

Is it where you live?

Home to me has different meanings to different people. It can actually be more than one specific place. It does not necessarily have to be the house or apartment you live in. Home is where the heart is and for me, there are three places that best represent home.

The first is Charlotte, North Carolina. I was raised there and have lived there since 2002 so it feels like home. So it is home and will always be even when if I move to another state. Charlotte is home to different Greenways and touring productions tend to stop by Charlotte and near my house, there are two malls. Charlotte is home for me because it is where I am from.

Another place that is home is Ponte Vedra, Florida, which is right near Jacksonville. Ever since I was a baby I have been going there about once or twice a year. There was a time when I would go there three times a year for Spring Break, over the summer and for Thanksgiving. My grandma owns a house down there and even though she is in Missouri more often, we still have access to her home in Florida. There are memories of spending time at the beach or spending time at Town Center (an outdoor mall) or spending time with cousins or heading over to St. Augustine for the day. Florida is definitely home to me as well even though I was never raised there so the meaning of home can go beyond the place where you were raised or where you live.

The third place that is home to me is Gardner Webb University, which is my school. How can a school that you only spend a small portion of your life at be considered home? As of right now, I only been there for two and a half years and next year, I will be entering my last year and that will be a bittersweet year. Well, it is home because you do after all live there throughout most of the year and I do love to learn. I love that school and I do love being a bulldog. I love spending time doing things through Student Activities or volunteering with Campus Civitan (my club) or going to the Gathering or being with friends. It is just home to be because I do love it there and because I do live there throughout the school year. Some Student Activities events I did were going to Disney World on a leadership experience for Spring Break, seeing Wicked-that did mark my fourth time seeing the musical, Pinterest night and other events.

So “home” can be varied. I talked about three places that are home to me. One of them, Charlotte, is where I am from and is my hometown. One of them is a place I have been going to every single year of my life. Another is my home away from home, but still home, but next year will be bittersweet because last year is my last year of college.

What does “home” mean to you?

Author: mphadventuregirl

I am a strong spiritual person who is a big fan of musicals. This blog deals with spirituality and musicals. I am finding that by writing about these, I am realizing I know more about each of them then I think I do. I hope you find my blog inspiring!

9 thoughts on “What is Home?”

  1. I explored this question in a post a while back, too. I guess I still have a soft spot for my childhood home, never-ending wonderful memories for my university home, and am very reluctant to leave the home I’ve made just 30 mins between the two I mentioned.

    Like

    1. It will be so hard next year at school in a way because it will be so bittersweet. It is home and it will be my last year there. It is my university home, but still will make the most of it. My university home will always mean something to me.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. My school is one hour away from home. Close enough, but still far away. Gardner Webb University is literally in Boiling Springs, North Carolina, which is a one stoplight town so it is in the middle of nowhere.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I love this post. My high school history teacher always used to say “Home’s not necessarily where you’re from. It might even be a place you’ve never been. It’s just a place where you feel you belong.” And I definitely think that there’s truth to that. For me, Seattle will always be a place I call home. It’s the place I grew up in and it’s the place I’ve spent my entire life. However, I’ve always felt that my heart belonged in Germany. It’s a place I’ve identified with since childhood and it’s a place that I’ve loved ever since I was a kid even when I’d never been there before.

    Like

  3. For me home isn’t a place it’s people. I feel at home when it’s just me and my parents wherever that may be. I can be in the middle of my home town but without them there it doesn’t really feel like home.

    Like

Leave a Reply

