Mystery of Phantom’s Love Triangle

Today, Phantom of the Opera’s love triangle will take center stage. As a bit of background about my journey with Phantom of the Opera, I first heard the songs in 2013 and I instantly fell in love with them and later that year I saw the special 25th anniversary film. Then for Christmas, Santa put tickets in my stocking for me to see the stage show live in Greenville in May of 2014. When I saw the stage show, I was choked up and spellbound by just how beautiful it was.

I feel like I know this love triangle less than the Wicked and the Les Mis one, but I might know more about it than I think I do. It is just I hardly know the characters involved in this. But I have a good feel one the love triangle.

In my opinion, the Phantom of the Opera love triangle is the darkest and the most suspenseful and I think that is where it gets its uniqueness from. The entire plot is basically a love triangle between Phantom, Christine, and Raoul. I am one of one of those Phantom fans who wants Christine and Raoul together, which means I love how the love triangle is set up in the musical. The Phantom is the one with the unrequited love.

The Phantom is the reason why this love triangle has the darkness that it has. I see him as the antagonist of the piece. He has a deformed face, which he is ashamed of  and he has had a horrible past and he is dealing with the feelings of unrequited love after Christine fell in love with Raoul. He doesn’t respond to his situation very well. Honestly, he terrorizes the Opera house and he murders people and he acts in revenge and in response to Christine not loving him, he wants to murder Raoul. In that final scene, he is forcing Christine to pick between him killing Raoul or marrying him. Not the best situation to respond to that situation. Because of how the Phantom responds, I love Christine with Raoul and I love them together because of beautiful “All I Ask of You” is.

While I don’t like how the Phantom responds, I honestly feel bad for him due to the unrequited love and his background. Love triangles are tricky and at least this love triangle is straightforward. I don’t understand why some people want Christine to end up with the Phantom when she isn’t in love with him and he is dangerous to spend time with.

There is still a lot of mystery in this love triangle. This love triangle feels like it is the most complicated, but it really isn’t. It doesn’t have a plot twist like the Wicked one has.

Why do you think this love triangle is dark and full of mystery? Do you like the way this love triangle is set up?

Author: mphadventuregirl

I am a strong spiritual person who is a big fan of musicals. This blog deals with spirituality and musicals. I am finding that by writing about these, I am realizing I know more about each of them then I think I do. I hope you find my blog inspiring!

11 thoughts on “Mystery of Phantom’s Love Triangle”

  1. I would agree that the Phantom does indeed make this love triangle a fairly dark and mysterious one. Like you, I love Raoul and can’t really imagine Christine being with anyone but him. I think that the ways in which the Phantom’s reactions to the unrequited love grow more and more severe really does add suspense and excitement to the show!

    Like

      1. This love triangle is the one I feel like I understand so little of. I barely know the Phantom even know I know how he responds. I still haven’t really explored Raoul or Christine.

        Like

      2. It has been three years since I watched Phantom, and I last listened to it today and I don’t have all the song, just the well-known ones. If I go back to New York, Phantom of the Opera might be one of the musicals I would love to see.

        Like

      3. The Broadway production is really good! When I went last year the cast was phenomenal and they were probably the best cast I’ve ever heard/seen. I have the 25th Anniversary DVD so I might rewatch that sometime soon. I’ve been thinking that it’d be fun to do a full-on analysis of the show while I rewatch it!

        Like

      4. Because I talked about the Phantom love triangle today and talked about a scene in the Wicked love triangle yesterday, I think tomorrow I will talk about the Les Mis love triangle even though I already talked about it and analyzed it on my blog

        Like

Leave a Reply

