Analysis of the Lion Cub Scene

This is still on the topic of musical love triangles. I want to focus on one scene that is connected to Wicked’s love triangle. Wicked’s love triangle is the first one I ever emotionally connected with and I find it to be the most complicated.

Spoilers Ahead:

Well, the Lion Cub scene could easily be overlooked the first time around. The first time you see the musical, there is a plot twist. In act one, Elphaba is feeling unrequited love for Fiyero, but in act II, Fiyero realizes that Glinda is not the girl for him and breaks up with her and starts going out with Elphaba so the unrequited love shifts. The plot twist is one of the reasons why this love triangle is unique. So why exactly does that happen? Well, let’s look back at this lion cub scene for some hints.

Leading up to the Lion Cub scene, Elphaba sees a scared Lion Cub in a cage and casts a spell on her class, which doesn’t affect Fiyero. The two run off into the woods somewhere to free the cub. Now, it is important to pay attention to the conversation the two are having and the way Fiyero is acting around Elphaba. Clearly the two have wonderful chemistry and Fiyero is flirting with Elphaba. In this scene, they are arguing, but in a  playful way it seems. There are clues that point to the fact that in this scene Fiyero might actually have a crush on Elphaba.

I actually think he does have a crush on Elphaba, but deep down doesn’t realize it at this point in the musical. The love triangle in Wicked can be questioning as to why does the plot twist even happen in the first place. Towards the end of the scene, Fiyero is trying to get Elphaba to explain why her spell didn’t affect him and in that moment, she realized she was falling in love with him and so the love triangle subplot has begun.

Unknown

So what are your thoughts on this scene? Do you think in this scene do you think he has a crush on Elphaba and do you think he knew or do you think he didn’t?  Do you think Fiyero started to have a crush on Elphaba on his days in Shiz?

Author: mphadventuregirl

I am a strong spiritual person who is a big fan of musicals. This blog deals with spirituality and musicals. I am finding that by writing about these, I am realizing I know more about each of them then I think I do. I hope you find my blog inspiring!

4 thoughts on “Analysis of the Lion Cub Scene”

  1. I definitely think that Fiyero had a crush on Elphaba even while they were back at Shiz. I think that he was probably somewhat aware of it but still not confident enough in himself and in his friendship with Elphaba to actually act on things!

    Like

    1. In my first three rounds of seeing the show, I didn’t pay close attention to the speaking scenes. But my fourth visit with the show, I wanted to understand why I love Fiyero, which is why I paid closer attention to the Lion Cub scene, which is why it brought to my attention that he might have made had a crush on Elphaba. I honestly wanted to better understand why the plot twist even happened. So when “Thank Goodness” happens, he realized that he fallen in love with Elphaba and hates hearing all the rumors spread about her and breaks up with Glinda and goes looking for Elphaba and they go into a relationship.

      Paying close attention to the Lion Cub scene in act I explains why the plot twist happens in the first place

      Like

Leave a Reply

