Hello Dolly Review

A matchmaker named Dolly Levi takes a trip to Yonkers, New York to see the “well-known unmarried half-a-millionaire,” Horace Vandergelder. While there, she convinces him, his two stock clerks and his niece and her beau to go to New York City. In New York, she fixes Vandergelder’s clerks up with the woman Vandergelder had been courting, and her shop assistant (Dolly has designs of her own on Mr. Vandergelder, you see)

It’s turn of the of the century Yonkers, New York where an ambitious young widow with an penchant for matchmaking (Streisand), has an idea for a perfect match-tight-fisted merchant Horace Vandergeldar (Walter Matthau) and-herself. As she tries to win his heart, we’re treated to one of the most musically entertaining, hilariously underhanded plots in film history.

Last night, I watched the movie musical, Hello Dolly. I knew Hello Dolly was a musical comedy, but I didn’t know its plot or any of its songs so it was fun discovering everything as I watched the plot. Barbara Steisand played Dolly, Walter Matthau played, Walter Matthau played Horrace Vandergelder, and Michael Crawford played Cornelius Hackel. When I saw the name Michael Crawford, I did not know if it was Phantom Michael Crawford or not, but after my mom did some research, she and I learned that it actually is Phantom Michael Crawford.

In this movie, I loved Barbra Streisand as Dolly. Boy Dolly likes to talk a lot pretty quickly at times, which can seem annoying in a way. Funny that I noticed that because like Dolly, I tend to talk that and a lot of people say that when I get excited I tend to talk quicker and quicker. Dolly is a bit of a matchmaker and I loved all of her outfits.

As for Michael Crawford, I cannot believe I was seeing a young version of Michael Crawford. I had always hard seem sing as the Phantom, but never when he was much younger. Outside of Dolly, Cornelius is a wonderful character. This character is funny at times. Anyone who loves Phantom should see this movie of Hello Dolly because Michael Crawford is in it.

This movie has enjoyable songs in it and wonderful sets and costumes.  The dance numbers were fun to watch. The opening part of the movie did not make any sense to me at all. Hello Dolly is so light-hearted and fun.

Has anyone seen Hello Dolly?

Author: mphadventuregirl

I am a strong spiritual person who is a big fan of musicals. This blog deals with spirituality and musicals. I am finding that by writing about these, I am realizing I know more about each of them then I think I do. I hope you find my blog inspiring!

20 thoughts on “Hello Dolly Review”

    1. I have no idea how I first heard of “Hello Dolly” at all. Last night, I could not figure out the names of the songs, but I still enjoyed them.

      Never realized you could discover a musical through another film. How did you discover Hello Dolly through that Pixar Film?

      Liked by 1 person

      1. oh, the only ways I have mainly discovered musicals are through my parents and through the likes of things such as Pandora. Other musicals may have been discovered other ways, but don’t exactly remember how

        Liked by 1 person

  1. I can’t believe you’ve not seen this musical before. It’s one of my mums favourites she’s a massive Streisand fan. I love everything from the opening couple of songs and the scene in Harmonia Gardens. I think she really owns the part when she sings ‘So Long Dearie’ I love love love this film. You also need to watch Disneys Wall.E

    Like

    1. Boy, it was crazy seeing Micheal Crawford in this as in Phantom Micheal Crawford due to being a Phantom of the Opera fan. I saw a bit of Dolly in me because I tend to talk to talk quickly and by seeing Dolly talk at times, I found that rather annoying so now I know how my family must feel some times so crazy to see that

      Like

      1. Yeah, I could barely believe that that was Michael Crawford when I first watched the movie! It was kind of weird because I’ve always loved listening to his Phantom and seeing him in Hello, Dolly! was pretty cool because Cornelius Hackl and the Phantom are two very different characters!

        Like

      2. When I first saw the name Micheal Crawford, my mom had to look up the name so to make sure it was the Phantom one because mom thought it was no way it was him. I sure love Cornelius Hackel more than the Phantom as characters

        Like

      3. Definitely! Today I was listening to his Phantom on my CD because we went on a bit of a roadtrip and I couldn’t help but think of how awesome it is that he’s played both of those roles even though they’re very different! I also like Cornelius a whole lot more than the Phantom as a character. In fact, he’s probably one of my favorite characters in the musical!

        Like

      4. It is amazing how just how many musicals I have discovered from Fall of 2012 to now. For starters: I started using Pandora and December of 2012, I first saw the movie musical of Les Mis. Tomorrow’s post will be my introduction to start those Wicked character analysis’s

        Like

      5. Yeah, definitely. Character analysis can be hard to do for characters one feels unfamiliar about because it’s kinda like writing a paper on someone you feel like you somewhat are familiar with but don’t know. But at the same time, I think that doing character analysis can help one learn the charcters better!

        Like

      6. I spent all of these years getting to know Elphaba, spent some time getting to know parts of Glinda and pieces of Fiyero. But everyone else is kind of a blur in a way. Elphaba was the easiest to get to know because well I see a lot of her in me and she just became well my favorite musical character: see what I mean

        Like

      7. Thats really crazy: I have loved Wicked much longer than Les Mis, but I only can fully analyze just one character, but for Les Mis, I could easily analyze all the character despite not loving it as long. Hmm.. wonder what the difference was

        Like

      8. That’s a really good point. I think that the same would go for me as well. Perhaps it’s because Wicked, due to being mostly about Elphaba (and, to an extent, Glinda), we, for the most part only get to see the characters in relation to Elphie and Glinda whereas with Les Miz, each character has a pretty distinct storyline/purpose while still relating back to the main storyline?

        Like

      9. In Wicked, I have this problem of keep on overlooking Boq, Nessa, Wizard, and Madame Morrible and that is part of where that comes from and a lot of that comes from the fact that I keep on approaching Wicked from the point of view from the point of view of a 12 year old. I am so focused on Elphaba, Glinda and Fiyero and I forget on everything else involved in the plot. In Wicked, the characters are not so intertwined together the same way the Les Mis characters are. In Les Mis, all of the character’s impact each other’s lives and they are so easy to get to know, but in Wicked they are so much harder to get to know.

        Like

Leave a Reply

