Musicals I Fell in Love With through the Stage Show

The past two days, I talked about musicals I fell in love with through the music and the movie. But today, I will talk about the musical I fell in love with through the stage version. Seeing a musical live is the best to experience a musical.

First up is Newsies. Yes, before I saw Newsies I had listened to four of the songs through Pandora, but that didn’t make me fall in love with the stage show. But it still was enough to convince me to see the stage show. After hearing it had Tony winning choreography, I was looking forward to seeing Newsies more. I saw this musical in August of last year.

I found my emotional connection very quickly. It first showed between the relationship between Jack and Crutchie and strengthened into the bond found between all the Newsies. The story was so inspiring. The fact that these underdogs: these newsboys stood up to Pulitzer and actually won makes up a wonderful story. The dancing blew me away and they were jumping high up in the air, flipping, tumbling, tap, ballet, dancing on newspapers, jumping over each other, and other fancy moves was fun to watch.

“Courage cannot erase our fear. Courage is when we face our fear”.

Pippin was a musical that I wanted to see after dad had me listen to “Corner of the Sky”. I automatically fell in love with the song and purposely did not look up the other songs. It came to Charlotte twice: the first time (that was like in 2014 or 2013), I never got to see it. But in 2015, my mom took me to see Pippin. Surprisingly, mom got tickets the week before and there was only day left with seats together and those seats happened to be five rows back from the stage.

Pippin is a circus natured,  Stephen-Swarthz, Tony Award winning musical. Pippin is the tale of a young prince looking for his “corner of the sky”, which is the place where he belongs. The Leading Player is the narrator of this tale, but is the antagonist of the story, but keeps on leading Pippin in the wrong direction, but the audience and Pippin doesn’t realize it until the end of the musical. At one point in the musical, were asked to sing along and that was fun. Literally after just one act, I asked my mom to buy me the cd and I hand’t even heard the second act songs yet and that just shows how wonderful Pippin is.

Another Stephen Swartz musical I feel in love with through the stage show is Wicked. I first experienced Wicked in New York with my mom as a 12 year old in 2006 and my love for it has grown ever since. Wicked has everything I want in a musical. It has the spectacle and dance, the comedy, the strong emotional connection,  and positive and negative emotions in the songs. I honestly cannot fully describe the impact that Wicked has had on my life.

Since New York, I am seen Wicked three other times and each time my vulnerability level increases. One of those times was in 2013 and I saw it with my dad and the tallest guy in the auditorium sat it front of me and my dad (despite it being his first time seeing it) gave me the better seat . The fourth time being January of 2016, I saw with Gardner Webb and because it was a school that changed me for the better, it affected how I viewed Wicked and I also came in knowing that “I’m Not That Girl” is a heartbreaking song thanks to help of “On My Own”. But funny story: my group came out at the end of Wicked and the bus we arrived on was broken down.

Wicked was key to the musical fan I am today. Wicked sparked my love for musical. It was the musical where I began to understand the emotional side of musicals I began to understand the negative emotions through that musical. In my opinion, it is much easier to understand the positive emotions than the negative emotions. Each time I see Wicked, I still approach it as a 12 year old, but it has the emotional depth of a college student. My favorite song from Wicked is “Popular” because I remember it being my favorite song from Wicked as a 12 year old.

Elphaba is quite a special character and the same is true for Glinda and Fiyero. But I understand Elphaba more than those two characters. I relate so well to Elphaba and she is my favorite musical character. Like her, I am determined, smart, big-hearted, unique, talkative, and I believe in equality and staying true to myself. Glinda and Fiyero play an important role in her life. Glinda becomes her best friend and Fiyero becomes the boy she falls in love with. Elphaba, Glinda, and Fiyero always tend to be the characters that come to mind the most whenever Wicked comes to mind and they are my favorite characters in the musical. Boy, the love triangle in Wicked is so complicated and the most complex of all musicals.

What are musicals you feel in love with initially through the stage versions? What made you love that musical?

Author: mphadventuregirl

I am a strong spiritual person who is a big fan of musicals. This blog deals with spirituality and musicals. I am finding that by writing about these, I am realizing I know more about each of them then I think I do. I hope you find my blog inspiring!

8 thoughts on “Musicals I Fell in Love With through the Stage Show”

  1. Hmm… I’m trying to think of musicals that I fell in love with through the stage production and really the only one that’s coming to mind immediately is Beauty and the Beast. Oh, and now that I think of it, Wicked, except for me it wasn really a show I liked immediately after seeing it!

    Like

      1. Elphaba, Glinda and Fiyero have been such an important part of my life especially Elphaba. Wicked I knew was complex by high school but never thought the show would become as complex as I thought it would be.

        Like

Leave a Reply

