Musicals I Fell In Love With Through the Music

There are many ways to fall in love with music. Usually people fall in love with them either by stage or by movie. But, there are some musicals that I fell in love with by the songs. There are some musicals out there that I don’t know if I fell in love with by stage or by song.

Rent is a musical that I fell in love with by listening to the songs. “Seasons of Love” was the very first song I knew from Rent and it was a song I discovered long before I was old enough to know about the musical. In Fall of 2012, when I was 18, I ended up with Pandora and Rent songs showed up on Pandora. Through all of those songs, I ended up falling in love with the musical. Just through the songs, I had no idea what the names of the characters were or what the plot was because the songs were out of context.

The closest I got to seeing the musical live is the film of the final Broadway cast. In September, my parents are taking me to see Rent.

Unknown

I think I fell in love with Phantom of the Opera through the songs. Mom recommended Phantom of the Opera to me. Automatically, I requested the songs on Pandora. I immediately fell in love with the songs. Like Rent, I was so lost on what the plot was, but still fell in love with the musical. I still am trying to figure out did I fall in love with Phantom of the Opera through the songs or through the stage adaption.

 

Music Man is a musical that is just like Phantom of the Opera in the sense that I have no idea when I actually became a fan of the musical: was it the songs or was it the stage adaptation? A good chunk of songs showed up on Pandora leading up to when I saw the stage show. That it tough when you hear the songs before seeing the stage show, but was it the stage version when you fell in love with the musical?

images

Of all these musicals, Rent is the only musical I know for sure I fell in love with through the songs. So many of the songs were listened to through Pandora. The songs were out of context so as a result, certain things did not make sense. The next two days, I will continue these set of posts: one will be musicals I fell in love with movies and one will be musicals I fell in love with the stage versions. I feel like of all ways to fall in love with a musical, it is the hardest to fall in love with one through the songs because you become lost on what the musical is even about. So there is kind of a challenge there, but can lead you to want to see that particular musical.

What are musicals you fall in love with through the songs?

Author: mphadventuregirl

I am a strong spiritual person who is a big fan of musicals. This blog deals with spirituality and musicals. I am finding that by writing about these, I am realizing I know more about each of them then I think I do. I hope you find my blog inspiring!

17 thoughts on “Musicals I Fell In Love With Through the Music”

  1. Oh, man. I love Light My Candle from Rent, so catchy!
    I grew up on Grease and Phantom of the Opera, which I was obsessed with for the longest time. When I was younger, I loved the Sound of Music and Mary Poppins!
    I’ve lately been really in Hamilton, have you listened to its songs? It is out of this world amazing. Youtube has an animatic version of the music, which does a great job recreating the Broadway’s version!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I cannot believe I am confessing this. True, I am a massive musical fan, but I honestly have no interest in Hamilton at all. I just don’t like rap or hip-hop music. I took some songs a listen and I feel kind of “meh” about some of them. I just do not want to let Hamilton into my life.

      When I see Rent, I bet I will love more than I already have. I have never seen it live before so seeing it live will affect my love for it. Of all the couples in that musical, Mimi and Roger are my favorite.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I guess each person has their own taste in musicals. I just love anything that can move people with music. Do you feel the same distaste towards most contemporary musicals?

        Like

      2. About modern musicals, one of my top two favorite musicals is modern. Wicked came out in 2003 and that musical is neck in neck up there with Les Mis.

        The stage show of Newsies is modern as well and I love that one as well. I guess what I am saying it just depends on the modern musicals

        Like

      3. I love your writing, and your passion in musicals definitely show through your blog. But I also think that to be able to to truly write a great comparison and critique pieces, one would need to know and watch a variety of musicals (versus shunning them) and have the knowledge. That said, since you’re writing about musicals as something you’re really passionate about, that’s a different story.

        Like

  2. Phantom, I definitely fell in love with for the music. I remember first hearing Music of the Night on accident but falling in love with it and eventually finding the other songs as well. That’s the main musical that really sticks out to me as a musical that I fell in love with for the songs, I think!

    Like

    1. Rent for sure is the main one that I fell in love with first through the songs and eventually finding the filmed version of the stage show.

      Sure, with Pippin, I fell in love with “Corner of the Sky” and was convinced to see the stage show, but that musical was a musical was a musical that I developed my love for through the stage adapation

      Like

      1. Waiting till September has been so difficult. I really have been waiting five years. I cannot wait to see what happens to my opinion on Rent when I see it in September. Rent is my dad’s favorite musical and he prefers plays over musicals, but still enjoys musicals.

        Like

      2. That should be a really awesome experience! I bet it’ll be a lot of fun!! I wish I could have seen it when the tour came to Seattle but I was knee-deep in finals so I couldn’t. It looks like such a great production though and I’m sure it’ll only make you love it more!

        Like

      3. Its still a coincidence that it will come to Charlotte literally five years since I fell in love with the musical. I fell in love with it Fall of 2012 and September starts Fall so almost five years. Interesting about that.

        And if I see Les Mis this, which is most likely, I will be seeing it five years since I first saw the movie. I saw the movie in December of 2012 and that is when it is coming to Charlotte.

        Crazy the timing of when those two musicals are coming to Charlotte

        Like

      4. That is pretty crazy! Great timing, I guess! For me, it’s crazy to think that Les Miz has already been in my life for almost five years now. It seems like just days ago that I fell in love with it because it feels so fresh and new even five years later.

        Like

      5. Les Mis and Rent I think it is interesting that they picked 2012 to enter my life. 2012 was the year I graduated from high school. Those two musicals entered my life during my first year of college. Funny in a way: Rent entered my life before Les Mis, but I knew Les Mis was sad before I figured out the truth about Rent. Thats what you get when you fall in love with a musical through the songs

        Like

      6. I fell in love with Rent and Les Mis before knowing they both are sad. They both go beyond their sadness and are both powerful. Five years in my opinion is a huge milestone for musicals: if I end up loving a musical for five years, that usually says a lot

        Like

      7. It helped that I did not know they were sad when I fell in love with them. Les Mis has a wonderful message of hope, love, sacrifice, love, compassion, and forgiveness. Rent teaches the preciousness of life and that the best way to live life is through love and to live in the moment- No Day But Today

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

