My Experience at Duke Chapel

This morning, my church choir sang at Duke Chapel in Durham, North Carolina. I had a feeling that it the service will make me feel like I am back at Bristol Cathedral. Well, back two years ago, I did not know if I wanted to go to so many church services. I went to church services at St. Paul’s Cathedral, Westminster, Salisbury Cathedral, and Bristol Cathedral.

Most of my church services were at Bristol Cathedral, which were sung by my Church Choir. In all, my choir sang six Evensong services and one Eucharist services. The service that they did the best was the last one and during their anthem, I cried and through that reaction I knew just how transforming my pilgrimage throughout England was.

Below are pictures throughout my Bristol Pilgrimage. These are pictures from Stonehenge, Chepstow Castle, Tintern Abbey, and Old Sarum. However, the fellowship was the best part of the pilgrimage because if it wasn’t for the fellowship all of those amazing places would not have had the same impact they had.

On the bottom below, it is a picture of Shaun the Sheep in front of Bristol Cathedral. Throughout Bristol, Shaun the Sheep statues were hidden throughout Bristol as a fundraiser to help raise money for a children’s hospital.

11838958_10207263922015674_1918978919473888215_o

Below is Duke Chapel. Yes, this post is supposed to be mainly about Duke Chapel, but I had to explain about the Bristol Pilgrimage. Duke Chapel looks similar to Salisbury Chapel in a way and also looks similar to Bristol Cathedral. In the prelude, I literally started crying when the choir started singing. I feel like I did that because of how incredible the choir was, because of beautiful Duke Chapel was, and due to being transported back to one of the Bristol Cathedral church services.

But there was one very special moment in this church services. They played the same anthem in the last Evensong. Well, I had the same reaction and I cried. I literally had the same reaction and that reaction reminded me of the impact that the Bristol Pilgrimage had on me.

19466581_10213373635314688_7936379861913706406_o.jpg

Below are links to other posts I wrote relating to Bristol. One of them goes beyond the pilgrimage due to my family going up two days early.

https://megsdailymusings.wordpress.com/2017/06/11/connection-between-les-mis-and-stonehenge/

https://megsdailymusings.wordpress.com/2016/11/03/the-servant-song-meaning/

https://megsdailymusings.wordpress.com/2016/07/27/fellowship-in-bristol/

https://megsdailymusings.wordpress.com/2016/01/01/bristol-pilgrimage/

 

Author: mphadventuregirl

I am a strong spiritual person who is a big fan of musicals. This blog deals with spirituality and musicals. I am finding that by writing about these, I am realizing I know more about each of them then I think I do. I hope you find my blog inspiring!

4 thoughts on “My Experience at Duke Chapel”

    1. It sure was. It felt as beautiful as the choir was at Bristol Cathedral. That was how beautiful it is. It just felt like that Pilgrimage. The Fellowship being the best part brought everything together that made everything worth it

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

