Musicals That Make Me Cry

One thing that makes musicals unique is that they are capable of reducing you to tears. I am not a typical crier so that kind of reaction in a musical is not common for me. I will talk about the musicals that actually have made me cry. The interesting thing about this list is that some of these musicals took quite a while till I had that kind of reaction or a few months or just one day.

Of course, I will talk about Les Mis. I want to say Les Mis is the first musical I ever cried during. I first saw it through the movie, but I honestly do not think I cried the first time. I did not know how to react to this tragic musical. But it was the second time when I realized there was something special in Les Mis. I believe I started crying during the second time and to this day I still do. I honestly do not know what it is about the songs that make me have that kind of reaction.

Les Mis is home to many heartbreaking scenes full of misery. Characters deal with things such as unrequited love, prostitution, abuse, survivor’s guilt and so on. Characters die throughout the musical. The songs are extremely powerful and touch your heart and soul in such a way that make you tear up and I still do not know what it is. This musical has songs such as “I Dreamed a Dream”, “A Little Fall of Rain”, “Come to Me”, “Drink With Me”,”On My Own” and “Empty Chairs at Empty Tables”

Similar to Les Mis in a way is Rent.  It is also a sad musical and powerful. Rent does not make me cry as much as Les Mis, but it still has it moments. It takes place during the HIV/AIDS epidemic and four of the eight main characters have the illness. Songs such as “Will I?” , “Your Eyes”, and “Without You” are tear reducing moments.

Unknown

There is only one song in Wicked that made me cry the fourth time I saw it. That song would be “For Good”. That song is the most emotional song in the entire musical. The story revolves around the friendship between Elphaba and Glinda. My reaction during the fourth viewing goes to show just how brilliant my Elphaba and Glinda are and just how meaningful and vulnerable Wicked has become. To be honest, I do not know if this song made me tear up before the fourth viewing or not, but I did know just bittersweet and special the song is.

unknown

Sound of Music was the most surprising when I cried. I first fell in love with the musical in elementary school. I remember always loving Edelweiss, my favorite song from the song. I saw it live two years ago. During Edelweiss, my emotional connection and vulnerability grew in a way I never saw coming. Sad entered the picture in the middle of the song and I cried from the halfway point till the end. So it took from elementary school all the way to 2015 to realize Edelweiss has some sadness in it.

maxresdefault

Last but not least is Oliver.  Just last week, I saw the movie musical of Oliver. I came in aware of just how heartbreaking “As Long As He Needs Me” is even though I had never seen Oliver before (well I have, but doesn’t count since I do not remember). I cried during that number. This is an example of tearing up during the first try.

images

I honestly do not know what makes you cry during a musical. I know it has to be a combination of things. Your emotional connection plays a role in your reactions, but there are other musicals where I have a strong emotional connection, but do not drive me to tears. Sometimes it can be the staging of a number or it can actually be how an actor portrays a character. I honestly have no idea. Ever since Les Mis entered my life, how I view musical emotions is different. With Les Mis, I love it when a musical drives me to tearing up.

What musicals make you cry? Why do you think certain musicals make you cry?

Author: mphadventuregirl

I am a strong spiritual person who is a big fan of musicals. This blog deals with spirituality and musicals. I am finding that by writing about these, I am realizing I know more about each of them then I think I do. I hope you find my blog inspiring!

13 thoughts on “Musicals That Make Me Cry”

  1. Hmm… that’s a tough question to answer since I cry pretty much every time I watch any sort of movie. Of course though, the emotions are much more severe with musicals through the power of the songs. I think that for me, it really takes just a really powerful song to get the tears flowing.
    Musicals that make me cry include Oliver!, Les Miz, Wicked, Phantom, and A Tale of Two Ciries.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Someone told me once I believe that if I got choked up watching the touring production that I will cry if I see it on Broadway.

        Well, that really depends. My reactions is caused by more than one thing. The portrayal of the actors is one thing and the production is another thing. It also has to do with your love for a musical and so on

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Les Mis and Hamilton both always make me cry. I got to see Hamilton live for the first time a few days ago and it was incredible. It’s Quiet Uptown and Who Lives, Who Dies, Who Tells Your Story reduced me to a crying mess. It was so incredible to watch!

    Like

    1. The first time I saw Les Mis, I didn’t even cry. Yes, the first time was the movie, but I didn’t cry. It was a reaction that was built up over time.

      I still don’t understand the hype behind Hamilton. You might think I’m crazy or something like by me saying this. I love musicals, but have no interest in seeing Hamilton only because of my dislike towards rap and hip-hop

      Like

      1. I don’t think you’re crazy at all! It was weird for me to get into at first as well. I remember my sister being so confused at first as to why I was playing rap music and dancing around the kitchen. But the level of storytelling that Lin-Manuel Miranda is able to capture in the lyrics is just breathtaking. It’s so well constructed it blows my mind!

        Like

      2. Everyone keeps on telling me to see Hamilton and I still say I don’t want to. I just have no interest. But everyone is like, but your’e a massive musical fan. Just because a musical is a huge success doesn’t mean every musical fan has to get into it

        Like

  3. Many musicals make me cry but there are a few which are fun and mainly happy. (My Fair Lady and Oklahoma)
    The ones which make me cry include Rent, (how they count the seconds in a life in a song blows me away and I cry!) West Side Story which Romeo and Juliet is its original form. Death, love and sadness. Les Mis is definitely a tear jerker where a life which is meant to improve and overcome imprisonment is such a drastic plot. I cry at Sound of Music and read three times the story of the Von Trapp Family Singers.
    Camelot was one of my earliest musicals which really brought me to tears. So many have a tragedy, sometimes I may start to weep at the very beginning! ~Robin

    Like

    1. Interesting how you musicals like that. I view most musicals as happy with some of those happy musicals having a serious side to them. Then there are those that fall in between happy and sad musicals (I feel like some bit there). Then there is the whole Les Mis, Rent, and West Side Story batch.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. There are some that are fun and light-hearted, Bedknobs and Broomsticks and Mary Poppins. It made me think about whether or not possibly musicals are lighter extensions of operas, in their level of pathos. Not many musicals don’t have an element of sadness within the plot, Meg.

        Like

Leave a Reply

