Review of Musical Movie of Oliver

Yesterday, I finally got to watch the musical ,Oliver, through the movie adaption. By reading the book, watching the 2005 movie and finally the musical movie was quite interesting. It shows the same story, same character, but with slightly different adaptions and interpretations.

This movie was quite enjoyable as a matter of fact. Through songs such as “Where Is Love”, “As Long As He Needs Me”, “Consider Yourself”, “I’d Do Anything”, and “Food Glorious” and so on makes quite a classic musical. Each time I was exposed to this story, I always ended up being fond of Oliver.

Spoilers Ahead:

In the movie, Mark Lester played Oliver. He makes a wonderful Oliver. He brings out Oliver’s spirit and innocence from the book. Of all the Oliver Twist characters, Oliver is my favorite character and I am not saying that because he is the main character. Not many people treat him fairly. Mark Lester brings out Oliver’s anger as well such as when Noah Claypole insulted his mother and Oliver’s fear such as when Bill uses him in a burglary.

Unknown

Ron Moody played the villainous Fagin. Unlike the 2005 movie and the book, in my musical, Fagin is portrayed as being comical. Ron Moody brought out Fagin’s villainous nature without being too terrifying and brought out Fagin’s comical nature as well. Jack Wild played the Artful Dodger, who is the one who brought Oliver to Fagin in the first place. The Artful Dodger is a favorite of Fagin’s.

Of all versions of Nancy, I loved the interpretation of her in the musical the most. Shani Willis played Nancy. Nancy loves Bill Sikes even though he abuses her and will do anything for him, which is easily seen in the heartbreaking song, “As Long As He Needs Me”. But when Oliver enters the picture, Nancy grows fond of the boy. It seems in the musical adaption, Nancy cares about Oliver the most. Towards the end, she does a courageous act by getting Oliver away from Fagin and back to Mr. Brownlow even though that causes Bill Nikes to brutally beat her to death.

Her rendition of “As Long As He Needs Me” reduced me to tears.

images

Oliver Reed played Bill Sikes. Oliver Reed made Bill Sikes more and more terrifying as the movie went on. I hate him even more than how much I dislike Fagin. Oliver Reed brought out the character’s abusive nature and his terrifying nature.

Unknown

Outside of memorable songs, there are also wonderful dance numbers as well. As a matter of fact, what got be interested in Oliver Twist in the first place was Les Misérables. Due to being obsessed with the musical, I learned that is was the Artful Dodger that made the lyricist think of Gavroche when he saw the musical. Due to that, I was led to wanting to read the book, which led to wanting to see a musical adaption.

What are your thoughts about the musical, Oliver?

 

 

Author: mphadventuregirl

I am a strong spiritual person who is a big fan of musicals. This blog deals with spirituality and musicals. I am finding that by writing about these, I am realizing I know more about each of them then I think I do. I hope you find my blog inspiring!

10 thoughts on “Review of Musical Movie of Oliver”

    1. Oliver very easily could become one of the meaningful musicals. So glad I read Oliver Twist over the summer. I can see why Oliver is such a classic. It is a wonderful story with memorable songs with catchy dance numbers

      The very odd thing about thing about this DVD was that halfway through at the intermission part, but couldn’t finish it until I stopped the DVD and turned it over to other side. That was irritating.

      Like

      1. Oh, I know what you’re talking about with the DVD! Mine does the same thing! It would have been easier to have two DVD’s but I guess that once you figure out the whole turning over the DVD mess that it works fine! When I watch it I have a tendency to accidentally put Side 2 in before Side 1 so that’s inconvenient but…
        All in all, I love the musical! It always makes me smile and it always makes me cry. I think there’s something really special about that!

        Like

  1. One of my all time favorite movie musicals! One of my favorite sequences is ‘Consider Yourself’ when they’re all dancing and singing one moment, then melting back into their ordinary lives at the end. Exciting, funny – and scary as heck – all in one film! Thanks for the look back!

    Like

Leave a Reply

