Pops Symphony

Just last night, I attended an outdoor symphony performed by the Charlotte Symphony Orchestra. The theme that was played tonight was Jazz. This outdoor symphony has been a family tradition for several years.

About at 5, I helped my dad lay out the tarp to reserve our space later. For the symphony, we basically are having dinner picnic style. Everyone we invited brought something and we tend to share food. On top of the tarp, we always lay down a blanket to sit on and we also bring chairs as well.

Part of the night was spent dancing whenever the composer asked us to. I do not remember all the times of the different pieces. But one was chattanooga choo choo. Another, which relates to this blog, was a series of pieces from the musical, Chicago. The Chicago pieces mainly focused on the song “All That Jazz”.

This symphony always bring a big group of people. In total, my family and friends ended up being eight people. Other nights that are to come in this symphony are Star Wars, Broadway, and Fourth of July.

Author: mphadventuregirl

I am a strong spiritual person who is a big fan of musicals. This blog deals with spirituality and musicals. I am finding that by writing about these, I am realizing I know more about each of them then I think I do. I hope you find my blog inspiring!

22 thoughts on “Pops Symphony”

    1. My family did not go to last week’s Pops Symphony because of possibility of rain. So the entire group decided to have dinner at my house. I did miss movie night.

      But at this week’s, it was Jazz night. I was kind of surprised the musical, Chicago, was in the mix but makes sense due to song “All That Jazz”. Chicago is one of those musicals I just don’t have interest in seeing. The Pops Symphony is something that really kicks off the summer.

      Looking forward to other symphonies. I will know songs from the other three weeks. Star Wars is next week and I do love the series, which I fell in love with 2015. But it is Broadway night I am looking forward to on the 25th and saw the musical they are doing which are doing the likes of “Sound of Music”, “Les Misérables”, “Wicked”, “My Fair Lady”, and “Phantom of the Opera”. The Fourth of July one is the most patriotic and it is one where everyone knows all those songs and it ends in fireworks.

      The Pops is very special to me due to this ongoing family tradition we do every June.

      Like

      1. When this symphony was free, it was so packed that each tarp was literally edge to edge. But now we have to pay to go this symphony, but still draws a wonderful symphony.

        The past two years (I believe), I ended up missing Broadway night thanks to either working or in Costa Rica. But this time, we will be in Durham because my mom is in the choir and will be singing in the church choir, but will try to make it back it in time.

        Like

      2. All the Pops are exciting. But on a Broadway night one, that is even more exciting due to my knowledge of musicals. I know every single one of those musicals and saw them in some shape or form

        Like

      3. Mainly probably due to the fact that those events tend to be an annual event and has been this family tradition. I always look forward to each Sunday not matter what the theme is even when I may not always be familiar with some songs.

        Like

      4. I think that family traditions are a great way to kickstart the summer! For me, it never quite feels like summer until we have out family 4th of July party in which we watch fireworks and do a lot of fun activities. Something about that event always tells me “Hey, it’s summer!”

        Like

      5. I see what you mean. Fourth of July always seems to be celebrated for me whenever the Pops does their Fourth of July theme. Everyone knows those songs. We tend to do a similar batch of songs. There is always one honoring those in the military and at the end, fireworks. That one really speaks Fourth of July for me

        Like

      6. That sounds like a lot of fun! Fourth of July is definitely just one of those days that is just really summery for me. In Seattle that’s also around the time when the weather starts becoming summer-like so maybe that has something to do with it!

        Like

Leave a Reply

