One Hundred Story Home Review

A True Story about Finding Faith in Yourself and Something Bigger

The Hundred Story Home leads you on an inspirational journey that begins with a questions, “where are the beds?” and ends with over one hundred formerly homeless people living in home of their own.

Kathy Izard was a graphic designer, wife, mother of four daughters, and volunteer at Charlotte’s Urban Ministry Center when an unlikely meeting with formally homeless author Denver Moore (Same Kind of Different As Me) changed the course of her life. Inspired by Denver’s challenge to do more than serve in the soup kitchen, Kathy quits her job to take on what seemed like an unimaginable task in her second half of life-to build housing for Charlotte’s homeless

Women together in this motivational story of a call to social action of Kathy’s personal journey to define the meaning of home. Read the book that not only makes you believe you can change the world, it will also end up changing you.

-Unknown

One Hundred Story home was the third book I finished this summer and also my third genre I read this summer. This time I read a nonfiction book. I am not a big fan of nonfiction, but my mom bought it for me knowing of my passion to help the homeless when I am older. I throughly enjoyed this book and was so inspiring. It actually made my dream of opening a theatre to help the homeless feel like it is possible. I want the homeless to act in plays and musicals and possibly even get the chance to work backstage.

At times, Kathy thought that there was no way she can ever house the chronically homeless because it seemed impossible. But through the motivation of people such as Denver, Dale, her husband and children, it helped her get through many hurdles she had to face while getting this started.

By reading the book, I realized just how hard it is to get a nonprofit started. The reason why I want the homeless to be involved in theatre is because I have a passion for musicals. The homeless have hidden talents that we do not know about. I know how much theatre has changed me and I cannot imagine how much more it would impact the homeless.

I am hoping the theatre will help give the homeless purpose in their lives and will help a community they might feel like they are missing. Even Kathy’s purpose took a lot of work especially when raising enough money to build the apartments. Lots had to be done before construction of the apartments could begin. It all started out with a sample program to see if her idea would work out.

So what I am saying is that this book made me realize that the theatre has chance of possibly working out. It shows me that it will happen even though it will take a lot of work. It shows you that some days will be harder then others. Even though I honestly just do not like nonfiction that much, I loved this book. I sometimes wonder why I am deeply connected to those living in poverty and homelessness. Kathy says that when you discover your calling, go for it. Even when people tell me my dream job is impossible, there will be people who will help you. I know I cannot get this theatre opened alone and will need more than just God to help me. The book shows that you can make a difference in the world.

Author: mphadventuregirl

I am a strong spiritual person who is a big fan of musicals. This blog deals with spirituality and musicals. I am finding that by writing about these, I am realizing I know more about each of them then I think I do. I hope you find my blog inspiring!

7 thoughts on “One Hundred Story Home Review”

    1. Some people seem to not believe me when I confess I have not one but two passions. My passion for volunteering is not mentioned as much as my passion for musicals.

      Well, my passion for helping the homeless came first. I was at an outreach event and we were at dinner. We did this interesting exercise. Four people had stars on their name tags and they were the wealthy and had a nice meal. Well about ten had triangles and they represented the middle class and they enjoyed their meal family style. Everyone else, which included me, had no symbols and all we had were rice and beans and water for dinner served in paper bowls and that represented the poverty population. By just looking around, I realized that the vast majority of the world was living in poverty and automatically I felt like I honestly had to do something.

      Fast forward to 2015. I decided to take Sociology and that was when I realized I was mean to work in Nonprofit someday. It was sometime in 2016 where I realize I could somehow combine my two biggest passions into one idea

      Like

      1. It is so wonderful how my biggest passions came together like that in one amazing idea. I honestly feel like Les Mis was supposed to be part of my life. The fact that my dream job ended up being a theatre to get the homeless involved really shows just how impactful my two biggest passions are.

        By growing up volunteering with my family and going to outreach events and so on, I was able to develop the passion. And growing up with musicals, I had no idea that growing up with musicals was quite important to eventually developing a passion when it comes to them through Les Mis with Wicked sparking the love

        Like

      2. I think that it’s super amazing that those two big parts of your life came together like that! It’s super wonderful to have a dream like that that would really be able to impact the lives of others in a really positive way, I think!

        Like

      3. I honestly did not see that coming at all. With the passion for volunteering coming first, I did not realized that my deep passion for those living in poverty was something I was meant to have a job: I just thought it was supposed to be just a volunteer position on the side.

        Even when I developed a passion for musicals, I did not realized I was going to work in something theatre related. So the two decided to come together.

        I bet that Les MIs changed my life so much in the sense that I have a deep passion to those living in poverty and Les Mis clearly represents that one passion of mine. That must be one of the reasons why Les MIs left such an impact in my life

        Like

      4. Yep! That definitely makes sense! It’s awesome how two really impactful parts of your life came together like that so perfectly! I really think that it’s a super amazing awesome idea that will change lives for the better!

        Like

Leave a Reply

