Bring Him Home Analysis

Major Spoiler Alert:

“Bring Him Home” is a sung by Valjean at the barricades. As a bit of background, one of the main plot lines in Les Mis is the uprising arranged by college-age students. Marius, who loves Cosette, is one of the revolutionaries. A couple scenes back, Valjean has discovered that his adopted daughter, Cosette, loves Marius and because Valjean loves Cosette so much, he heads over to the barricades in order to protect Marius.

“Bring Him Home” is a prayer that Valjean sends to God in order to make sure that Marius survives the barricades. In “Drink With Me”, the song right before “Bring Him Home”, the students realize there is a high chance that most of them will be killed. After Eponine died, they realized just how outnumbered they really are and acknowledged the fact in “Drink With Me”. In “Bring Him Home”, Valjean brings up the fact that he would rather die than Marius because Marius is only a boy and still quite young and still has a future ahead of him. .

unknown

This song can easily not be seemed that sad the first time around. But when seeing Les Mis a second time, this song becomes even sadder than what it appears. As a matter of fact, the rebellion ends up being a complete failure. Marius is the only survivor and with knowing that fact, it makes you realize during “Bring Hime Home” that the other students will not survive. As a matter of fact, Marius had to survive since he loves Cosette because Cosette is supposed to represent hope and light and if Marius didn’t survive, Cosette would not represent what she does in Les Mis. Valjean’s prayer at the barricades in a lot of ways is one of the places where spirituality shines through Les Mis even though the song is sadder than it appears and that is due to Valjean praying to God and throughout Les Mis, there is a love of God shown throughout.

Since it is Memorial Day, “Bring Him Home” can connect to the soldiers that families will hope survive even if they know there is a chance they might get killed. That sounds almost like Valjean’s situation. Valjean is getting older and he needs someone to continue caring and protecting Cosette.

What are your thoughts on “Bring Him Home”?

Author: mphadventuregirl

I am a strong spiritual person who is a big fan of musicals. This blog deals with spirituality and musicals. I am finding that by writing about these, I am realizing I know more about each of them then I think I do. I hope you find my blog inspiring!

14 thoughts on “Bring Him Home Analysis”

  1. At first, I didn’t think much of the song, but through the years, it’s become one of my favorite songs in the musical. I think that it’s such an emotionally powerful song and that it’s a crucial moment for both Valjean and Marius in the second act of Les Miz.

    Like

    1. This scene does help highlight some of the spiritual themes found in Les Mis: for starters, it does show love for God in this song and it does show in a way how Valjean has changed throughout Les Mis. If you know Les Mis, it is quite hard to believe that only Marius will survive

      Like

      1. Absolutely! I think that Bring Him Home is one of those scenes in Les Miz that really, really brings out human emotion really well. It definitely does highlight changes in Valjean’s character throughout the story and I think that the fact that the song is a prayer really brings out the love and faith Valjean has in God.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. The spirituality is very hard to spot as a matter of fact. But some scenes make it very clear it is in there. The bishop scene does and so does “Bring Hime Home”. But many Valjean’s actions have a spiritual aspect behind it. Even the students express hope at times

        Like

      3. Yep! I think also, that one of the most spiritual moments in the show is during the finale when Valjean is dying and Cosette and Marius are there with him. But, even before they arrive and he’s praying yet again, this time for God to bring him home, we have another spiritual moment, I think.

        Like

      4. Definitely! So many lyrics in the finale demonstrate emotions of hope. Some of my favorite lyrics are from the finale, as a matter of fact. Lyrics like “Even the darkest night will end and the sun will rise”, “The chain will be broken and all men will have their reward”, and “Tomorrow comes” are so hopeful and, in my opinion, very perfectly illustrate the whole mood of Les Miz as a whole!

        Like

      5. “even the darkest night will end and the sun will raise” directly reminds me of the line in scripture that says “those who have walked in darkness have seen a great light”.

        Crazy how I did not spot the positive nature of Les Mis the first time I got my first full experience. It took me much longer to pick up on the spirituality

        Like

      6. Yeah, it took me a while to pick up on the spiritual side as well. I think that I was just so caught up in the tragic nature of the story the first time around and failed to see the hopefulness and the spirituality underlying all of the character death and other tragedies.

        Like

      7. I thought it was too depressing and due to that was surprised I started researching it after watching the movie the first time. Have no idea what made me decide to do that.

        Like

      8. The first time I watched the movie, I must have been left with some sort of lasting impression (without fully being aware of it) because similarly to you, I also did some research on the characters and a little on the storyline itself. So I must’ve been intrigued in some way by that first viewing. I think that Éponine’s character was one that most piqued my interest in that first viewing.

        Like

      9. I hardly remembered characters and even songs the first time around. I had “Do You Hear the People Sing” stuck in my head and I already knew “I Dreamed a Dream”.

        I feel like my soul might have been moved more than I thought I did. Something must have struck a chord in me so the second viewing was like seeing it for the first. It took quite a very very long time to know what exactly am I emotionally connected to

        Like

Leave a Reply

