Experience of Loaves and Fishes

While some may know that I am a musical fanatic, there is another passion of mine that is equally important. I love to volunteer especially for those living in poverty. I grew up volunteering for that community. Later in high school when I did an dinner exercise at an outreach event, I realized that the vast majority of the world was living in poverty. Through that exercise, I learned that my main priority of volunteering was to help the poverty population. I also knew it was my calling to reach out to that community so in a way I developed a deep connection to the less fortunate.

Well today, I volunteered today with my dad at Loaves and Fishes, a food pantry for low-income families. It was founded by my church and originally was just a closet. Now it is like this mini grocery store where families of different sizes would come grocery shopping with one of the volunteers. Today was an especially busy day. I had to help by unfolding flat paper bags. I had to open up zip lock bags for someone to put chicken in. I had to help restock at times when donations came in and this time, Loaves and Fishes was given a big donation. We even had this big batch of families come in at once. Well after the family member shopped, us volunteers had to help load the cars and bring back the shopping cart. Usually in Loaves and Fishes, all I do usually is just help the families shop and load the cars and bring back the carts.

But due to number of clients coming in and a huge donation, it made all of us do even more than we typically end up dong. I have never seen volunteering as a sacrifice. Well I am helping those in need, I still have given something in return. You can see the gratitude they have for us reaching out. It gives me a feeling of reward and pleasure. In a lot of ways, volunteering is a huge part of my spiritual journey. My spiritual journey is very important to me due to being gifted with a strong spirit.

Author: mphadventuregirl

I am a strong spiritual person who is a big fan of musicals. This blog deals with spirituality and musicals. I am finding that by writing about these, I am realizing I know more about each of them then I think I do. I hope you find my blog inspiring!

9 thoughts on “Experience of Loaves and Fishes”

  1. Hi Loaves and Fishes,
    I am also a musical fanatic– broadway musicals. My email is broadwaymusicalfan.com. I met you at Jason’s Meet and Greet. You mentioned at his blog party you are trying to increase your follower count. I can help you get to 500 and beyond. That’s what I do at my site. My post this Sunday is dedicated to how you can easily increase your follower count. Also, I have regular blogging events like Jason where you can meet new readers. I also have a Follow to Follow Directory for my blog subscribers. People will follow you back within three days. There are over 400 bloggers in the directory. I blog at MostlyBlogging.com.
    Janice

    Like

    1. At first my blog didn’t seem to be successful at all. I started in December of 2o15 and I didn’t see success until summer of 2016. I took two wordpress courses over the summer. Now currently have 232 followers, so getting there

      Liked by 1 person

      1. People find the fact that I have a passion for musicals and volunteering in a way unexpected and find it hard to believe. That is because I don’t talk about volunteering as much as musicals.

        Because I have a deep connection to those living in poverty due to my passion for volunteering to help that community, I am drawn to plots in literature that talk about the less fortunate

        Like

      2. That is part of why I loved the three Dickens books I already loved I believe and the one Hugo book I actually read. Hugo and Dickens are very similar to reach other and plan to write a post about that: maybe tomorrow

        Like

      3. That’d be awesome! I think that the themes of their books are one of the things that initially got me interesting in their work, especially after having read about the world they were living in and how their writings were their way of standing up for what they knew to be right

        Like

Leave a Reply

