Review of Oliver Twist

I am happy to say that I finished Oliver Twist yesterday. I started reading it on the 13th of May. Of all the classics I have read into between semesters, this book has taken me the shortest amount of time to read. On this post, I will try to review this book even thought it is difficult to come up with many reasons why I loved the book.

Spoilers ahead:

In this book, Dickens does a good job in grabbing you in just about three pages. Once I only read like that many pages, I started to fall in love with the story and Oliver. The entire book I was very fond of Oliver. He was actually my favorite character in the entire book. In my opinion, it is important to love the protagonist in order to get the most out of any piece of literature. Oliver was born an orphan and raised in a workhouse, which has poor conditions.

I love the spirit and goodness and innocence that Oliver shows even when people mistreat him at times, he always stays a good person. Even when he is in the hands of Fagin and Sikes, he does not turn to their criminal ways because of the goodness he has. I do love some of the characters that treat Oliver fairly such as Mr. Brownlow and Rose Maylie.

When it comes to the book, I just didn’t like Fagin or Sikes. They are two of the villains in the piece. While I don’t like the two characters, they provide conflict to Oliver’s journey and that is important. Oliver encounters Fagin first and did not understand he was training kids to be pickpockets at first. He did not figure that out until he saw the Artful Dodger and Charley Bates steal a handkerchief from a gentleman, who turns out to be Mr. Brownlow. Oliver just wouldn’t let Fagin or Sikes corrupt him at all.

I find Sikes to even be more evil than Fagin is. True he is also a villain like Fagin, but he is quite abusive. He does work for Fagin and later hated the fact that he killed Nancy. He only did that because Nancy gave away Fagin and Sike’s latest scheme of trying to recapture Oliver for the second time. The first round, Oliver was staying with Mr. Brownlow. It was Fagin’s goal to recapture him the first time. But the second time was when Oliver was staying with Rose Maylie and her family. When Oliver was staying with both of him, he was recovering from sickness and just did not want to be sent back to both Fagin and Sikes. Later in the story, there is another villain involved, who is Monks, who did plan with both Fagin and Sikes to recapture Oliver the second time.

I actually enjoyed Nancy more than both Fagin and Sikes. I found it hard to like her at first. But when she gave away Monks, Fagin, and Sike’s schemes to recapture Oliver, I loved her at that moment even though she knows that if she gave them away, she could possibly be killed and that was an act of courage right there.

This has to be the easiest Dickens book I ever read. He always makes you want to know what it going to happen next. Whenever he was with Mr. Brownlow and Rose, I always hoped that he wouldn’t be sent back to misery. I am so glad at the end that both Sikes and Fagin did die. I also am glad that Oliver got adopted by Mr. Brownlow, so Oliver’s journey did lead him to salvation. Now I am wondering should I watch the musical adaption? I honestly watched the musical live in middle school, but I have no recollections of seeing it.

If you like Oliver Twist, why did you love it?

Survive

Author: mphadventuregirl

I am a strong spiritual person who is a big fan of musicals. This blog deals with spirituality and musicals. I am finding that by writing about these, I am realizing I know more about each of them then I think I do. I hope you find my blog inspiring!

26 thoughts on “Review of Oliver Twist”

  1. Such a lovely review of Oliver Twist, Meg πŸ™‚
    For me this was the first serious literature I read and I completely fell in love with the characters and the plot. It helped that Oliver was a child and being a child at my first reading of the book, I could connect with his character.
    With subsequent readings of the book, I could catch more nuances and I remember the sinister villains, Fagin, Sikes, Monks more than the do-gooders πŸ˜€
    And I also liked the Artful Dodger!

    Like

      1. mean continue reading the classics. Well, I am not reading another classic until Christmas Break. I am currently reading a fantasy, but its not a classic. It is just a regular fantasy which is called “A Clearing in the Forest”

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Awesome review! I think one of the reasons I loved Oliver Twist so much was because I love the musical a lot too so when I read the book that connection was already sort of there! My favorite character was always Nancy, probably because of her actions towards the end. To this day, Bill Sikes is one of those villains that still make my stomach clench, as it were. I think that my love for Oliver Twist also greatly stemmed from my love of the characters!

    Like

    1. Oliver Twist was the easiest of the classics I read in between semesters. The fact that I fell in love with Oliver so towards the beginning, it helped me care about his journey. Now, I must see the musical it seems

      Like

      1. The musical is pretty accurate in portraying the book but it changes the ending very slightly and makes Fagin a little more comical! I think you’ll really enjoy it when you get to see it! The movie version of the musical is probably my favorite musical movie as it did a very good job with the dance scenes and chosing actors for the roles!

        Like

      2. I cannot believe I saw the musical of Oliver Twist live in middle school, but have no recollection of seeing it live even though I recently found a journal entry about it

        Like

      3. I have seen musicals mostly through movies. But nothing is like the power of live theatre especially the musicals that are powerful themselves. Some of the powerful musicals include Les Mis and Wicked

        Like

  3. I cannot say that I’m a lover of classic literature, far from it, but the Oliver Twist film I saw a few times growing up and it was good. As I’m sure you are aware, in most cases the books are better than the plays/films so it may not be as ‘complete’ when you see it. But, if you liked Oliver, then why not πŸ™‚

    Like

    1. I know books tend to be more complete than movie and the stage adaptions. Most of the time I see stage versions before I tend to read the book. Books help you to understand characters more even there could be different characterization traits

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Hey. That’s a good idea to watch the movie/play 1st and *then* reading the book. I think I may have to borrow that because I’ve seen a few films after I’ve read the books and I always end up disappointed. Not to mention things being changed and missing out important bits. I think I’ll end up changing tac, watch and then read. Thank you πŸ™‚

        Like

      2. In a musical of a book for instance, the songs allow you to easily develop an emotional connection to the characters. Once you have an emotional connection, it is much easier in a way to already have a connection to the story before reading the book

        Liked by 1 person

      3. I have to admit I’m not a fan of musicals, but I understand how the connection to the character, through the music, can be formed. It’s quite interesting and I’ll probably test it next time a musical is on. Yeah, sounds good πŸ™‚

        Like

      4. Understandable in a way that you are not a fan of musicals because everyone just has different opinions. I was raised going to see musicals either live or as movies and that is a huge reason why I am the musical fanatic I am today

        Liked by 1 person

      1. Both books I finished reading honestly having no clue why I actually liked them. I do remember loving the character Pip from Great Expectations, but not having a good enough reason why

        Like

      2. I am only just starting reading the classics. Of all the classics I have chosen to read in between semesters have been Les MisΓ©rables, Don Quixote, Tale of Two Cities, Great Expectations, and Oliver Twist. Next two classics to read on the list, which will not be read until Christmas Season of 2017 and Summer of 2018, which are Hunchback of Notre Dame and Nicholas Nickleby

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

