Is There More than A Love Triangle In Wicked?

It is very obvious in Wicked that a love triangle is in it, which is very ironic and complicated, but is there more in Wicked than just a love triangle? This musical focuses so much on Elphaba, Fiyero, and Glinda.

Possible Spoilers:

You first know there is romance in Wicked during Dancing Through Life. Boq asks Glinda to the school dance. We learn that Boq actually loves Glinda, but Glinda asks Boq to take Nessa to the dance since Glinda wants to ask Fiyero. So right now Boq loves Glinda and Glinda supposedly is starting to love Fiyero. But at the dance things get even more challenging. We now learn that Nessa loves Boq. So now Nessa loves Boq, Boq loves Glinda, and Glinda loves Fiyero. So right now we have a bit of a love quadrangle.

Unknown

Elphaba starts getting involved in the picture starting with the lion cub incident. In class, a professor is starting to do an experiment on a scared lion cub and out of anger, Elphaba casts a spell on the class and it doesn’t affect Fiyero. The two run off to free the lion cub. In this scene, Elphaba realizes she loves Fiyero for the first time. It would be easy at this point to see the musical is only home to a love triangle. Elphaba feels like she isn’t good enough for Fiyero because she is green and she knows that her best friend loves him. There are hints in the lion cub scene and after “I’m Not That Girl” that maybe Fiyero has a crush on Elphaba, but not realizing it.

unknown

Things get even more complicated in act II. During “Thank Goodness”, Fiyero hears rumors about Elphaba and in this moment, he realizes that he loves Elphaba. So he ends up breaking up with Glinda and searches for Elphaba. Now the unrequited love has shifted from Elphaba to Glinda, which really challenges things.

images

The whole love situation in Wicked is way more than a love triangle. Even though it is more than a love triangle, a love triangle still exists. That is due to both Glinda and Elphaba being in love with Fiyero. So the whole situation is that Nessa loves Boq, Boq loves Glinda, and Glinda and Elphaba love Fiyero. So four characters in Wicked go through unrequited love, but isn’t well noticed by Boq or Nessa. The unrequited love seems mainly focused on Elphaba in act I and she is able to move on from Fiyero and later Fiyero and Elphaba end up a couple. Elphaba’s story revolves around friendship and not unrequited love.

This whole love pentagon thing in Wicked only adds to the complexity. The only unrequited love song is “I’m Not That Girl”, which why it is easy to overlook the love pentagon and only see a love triangle. That song is sung twice: The first being the full song and sung by Elphaba and the second time it is sung by Glinda and as a reprise. Due to Nessa and Boq only being secondary characters, you might not understand their importance to the story and you might easily overlook them. After all, the story is truly about the friendship between Elphaba and Glinda.

So do you feel like Wicked’s romance is more than love triangle?

 

Author: mphadventuregirl

I am a strong spiritual person who is a big fan of musicals. This blog deals with spirituality and musicals. I am finding that by writing about these, I am realizing I know more about each of them then I think I do. I hope you find my blog inspiring!

10 thoughts on “Is There More than A Love Triangle In Wicked?”

  1. It’s pretty amazing how complicated the romance arc in Wicked is! I hadn’t fully realized how crazy it is until you mentioned it the other day! It’s pretty amazing how one part of the story can be so complex!

    Like

    1. It took quite a long time till I realized that there is in fact a love pentagon in Wicked. For so many years, I just noticed a love triangle since I was so focused on Elphaba, Fiyero, and Glinda and even today, still tend to overlook Nessa and Boq.

      So from age 12 to perhaps even past my fourth time seeing Wicked which was when I was 22, I don’t think I even took notice of that love pentagon.

      So if Wicked really is a love pentagon, that would make Les Mis having the best love triangle. But because Wicked still has two characters loving one character still makes Wicked home to a love triangle

      Like

      1. Definitely. I suppose that there are two love triangles which, meshed together reveals a love pentagon of sorts. Because there’s the Nessa-Boq-Glinda love triangle and then there’s the more prominent Glinda-Fiyero-Elphaba love triangle

        Like

      2. Absolutely! As a kid, I never paid too much attention to the romance aspects of musicals but nowadays, it’s one of the first things that I notice in a musical. Kinda funny how that’s almost a complete switch that’s happened!

        Like

      3. A lot of times growing up, the romance mostly was not even in the form of a love triangle. Romance I was well aware of growing up and it was easy to spot especially starting with Wicked.

        Love is so complicated when its romance. That is especially true when romance is not just dealing with two people. So at least, I could understand at least some aspect of a love triangle. At least I knew that when someone isn’t loved back by the one they love is sad. I was well aware that love triangles provide an interesting emotional texture.

        Like

      4. Yeah, definitely. Now that I think of it, Beauty and the Beast’s love triangle was the first one I was ever introduced to though I never really did see it as a love triangle. I think that musicals add another level to romance with the songs

        Like

      5. As a matter of fact, the song I remember the most from Beauty and Beast is Beauty and the Beast.

        I still have not fully grasped romance in the musical world. Still trying to understand what it is all like when it goes beyond just two people

        Like

  2. Ah. The Lion Cub scene is one of my favorites in the musical. (:

    I don’t really like love triangles, but I must admit, I never thought much about the love triangle in this one. Or love… whatever it is. I think it’s way beyond that. I think the classic love triangle today involves two characters (usually two guys) who are both in love with our female protagonist. So (if we exclude Nessa and Boq for the time being) the fact that it’s two girls and a guy already makes it different. Plus, they’re all sort of realizing their feelings, rather than just like… whining about which guy they should pick. Haha.

    Like

    1. When it comes to Wicked, I mainly think of the friendship between Elphaba and Glinda and the love triangle between Elphaba, Glinda, and Fiyero. I tend to search for complexity in musicals and Wicked is one of the powerful and complex musicals

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

