The World of Classics of Musicals

What do I mean by a classic musical? Whenever I think of the classics, I tend to think of those from the Golden Age of musicals. I am a fan of the classic musicals and that says a lot about my tastes in musicals. The fact that I love musicals from the Golden Age really says a lot.

The very first classic musical I ever loved was Sound of Music. It was a movie I saw when I was a kid. I have loved it ever since elementary school. It is my favorite of all the classics and the best Rodgers and Hammerstein musical in my opinion. I am drawn to its themes of music and family. It has this memorable score with songs like “My Favorite Things”, “Do Re Mi”, “Sound of Music”, “Climb Every Mountain” and “Edelweiss”. It is one of the most meaningful musicals of my life. It after all is a musical I have loved since elementary school and it still holds a special place in my heart.

maxresdefault

Another Rodgers and Hammerstein I love is South Pacific. It is a romantic story and is about the relationship between Emelie and Nellie. It has memorable songs like “Some Enchanted Evening”, “There is Nothing Like a Dame”, “This Nearly Was Mine” and “Younger Than Springtime”. It does deal with interracial marriage and does deal with racism. In the song, “You’ve Got to Be Carefully Taught”, it shows that racism is taught and it isn’t something we are born with.

unknown

Other Rodgers and Hammerstein musicals I have seen are Oklahoma, King and I, and Cinderella. Rodgers and Hammerstein are one of the most important teams in the Golden Age. I don’t fully love King and I, but do some Anna and songs like “Getting to Know You”, “Shall We Dance” and “I Whistle a Happy Tune”. I love some of the songs from Cinderella as well. As a matter of fact, Oklahoma is when the Golden Age of Musicals truly begins.

Another Golden Age musical I have seen is Music Man. I first discovered it through Pandora. Before I saw it live, I was already familiar with songs like “Seventy Six Trombones”, “Ya Got Trouble” and “Gary Indiana”. My school decided to put together a production of Music Man in Spring of 2015. That was my first semester of Gardner Webb. One big reason why I love Music Man is just how light-hearted and happy it is.

images

Another Golden Age musical I love is Singing in the Rain. I love songs like “Good Morning” and “Singing in the Rain”. Just like Music Man, the musical is very light-hearted and very happy. While I prefer musicals that have songs that have both positive and negative emotions, I don’t want all musicals to be in that nature. I love how simple both Singing in the Rain and Music Man are. Because they are in the light-hearted nature they are in, it helps balance out musicals.

Unknown

It wouldn’t be right to talk about the classics unless I bring up West Side Story. I have conflicting feelings about this musical. I saw the movie and I found the movie good, but nowhere close to being a masterpiece. But I did like the songs just enough to get the songs. I felt like the dancing was off in a way. It is one of the most well-known musicals. It is a tragic tale based off of Romeo and Juliet. I don’t love West Side Story, but I don’t like it either. I feel like it is somewhere between loving it and liking it. I honestly want to see the stage show to seeing how the dancing fares. In my personal opinion, I feel like dancing works better live due to the nature dancing in musicals has.

unknown-1

I may just be a college student, but I do enjoy the classics. Loving and liking the classics in a way shows what kind of a musical fan I am. It shows I love musicals from a wide range of time periods. I didn’t know about the classics until about my college years. The only one I was aware of belong to Sound of Music because I grew up with the movie.

What are your thoughts about the classic musicals?

 

Author: mphadventuregirl

I am a strong spiritual person who is a big fan of musicals. This blog deals with spirituality and musicals. I am finding that by writing about these, I am realizing I know more about each of them then I think I do. I hope you find my blog inspiring!

25 thoughts on “The World of Classics of Musicals”

  1. I really think that I should listen to more classic musicals! I only got into musicals fairly recently so I have a lot of things to catch up on. Classic musicals that I have seen and enjoyed are the Sound of Music, Anything Goes, and Cabaret. (Do they count?) We watched a bit of West Side Story last year at school but I never got to finish it, sadly! My friend absolutely LOVES Singing in the Rain so I definitely need to watch that, aah. 😀

    Like

    1. Ever since elementary school, my parents have taken my sister and I to see movie musicals and stage productions. In elementary school, had no clue I would become this musical fanatic.

      In middle school, my enjoyment of musicals turned into something I love doing. My mom took me to New York and she treated me to seeing Wicked on Broadway. It was the show where I began to understand the emotional side of musicals. The musical had such a huge impact on me and my favorite musical character is Elphaba since I relate to her so much. Based on the musicals I grew up with, I believed all musicals were happy.

      Then college comes along. My mom took me to see the movie of Les Mis. But I had no clue I was about to see a tragic musical. It took me by shock and confusion when I realized it was one while actually watching it. It made no sense that tragic musical would end up existing. By the end of the movie, I honestly started researching the musical. I soon was able to see beyond the heartbreak and see it for what it was. I am obsessed with the musicals and changed the view I view musicals. Les Mis ‘ has an unique emotional impact filled with show power, passion, epic quality, and truthful.

      So Les Mis and Wicked are neck in neck tied to be my favorite musical

      Liked by 1 person

      1. That’s so wonderful! I saw musicals when I was younger but wasn’t a MASSIVE fan of it. I adore Wicked too , and I’m so glad it’s made a big impression on you.
        Les Mis was the musical which, well, got me into musicals, and even though I can think of musicals with perhaps objectively better songs, it has a very special place in my heart. IT MAKES ME SO EMOTIONAL TOO. ❤

        Like

      1. Oh I was a lot older. Musicals for me started when I was 22. Until then I didn’t even pay attention to live vs movie musicals. I thought all musicals were movies.

        Like

      2. In elementary school, I saw both movie musicals and live musicals. I am still young now, still a college student. If I wasn’t exposed to them at such a young age, I don’t think I would be the musical fanatic I am today

        Like

  2. I definitely have a soft spot for Rodgers and Hammerstein. One of my old classmates is actually the great-grandson to Oscar Hammerstein II. Your reviews and critiques made me want to see a couple of these I haven’t had the opportunity to enjoy yet. My only advice is to change up your verbiage. “Another Golden Age Musical…” “Other Rodgers and Hammerstein…” was a bit repetitive. Otherwise a great read!

    Like

  3. I know the first two musicals you mentioned quite well. Sound of Music is one of my mom’s favorite movies, possibly her favorite, and I saw it quite a few times growing up. And when I was in high school I was in a few plays, including South Pacific. We also did the classic musicals Fiorello! and Gypsy.

    Like

    1. My recent school did both Music Man and Little Shop of Horrors. I was house manager at Little Shop of Horrors.

      At my community college, the school before Gardner Webb, I saw both Godspell and Les Mis. I ushered twice for Les Mis and saw it once with my family. Well, that was my first time seeing the stage version of Les Mis, but I first fully experienced that musical through the movie.

      Musicals are an important part of who I am

      Like

      1. Les Mis is only one of my favorite musicals, but I am obsessed with it and due to that have spent a lot of time researching the musical. Now it is touring the United Staes and hopefully my parents will take me since it is coming to my hometown in December. I have been called too passionate about Les Mis, but I don’t think that is true. That is the most meaningful musical of the more recent years.

        Well, I did not just see Les Mis at community college. Two years ago, my family went to England and my mom took me to see Les Mis in London and we got to sit nine rows back from the stage. I lived my dream that night.

        All of the meaningful musicals plays an incredible role in my musical journey.

        Like

  4. Really nice post! I found myself nodding along in agreement with a lot of what you wrote! I personally really like those classic, golden-age musicals, but I do have to admit that there are a few that I’m not too fond of (though that’s a fairly rare occurrence)! In general, I really love Rodgers and Hammerstein and shows like The Music Man and Hello, Dolly! are definitely on my list of favorites!

    Like

      1. A good chunk of those classic musicals were discovered through Pandora. I think a huge reason why I love classic musicals is due to be raised on Sound of Music.

        People would expect someone my age to only love the more recent musicals. But I am someone who loves musicals from the classics to the more modern ones

        Like

      2. I think that I was mostly introduced to classical musicals through my dad and my grandpa. My grandparents had a lot of those old musical movies so I watched a lot of them growing up! I also would have to agree that I like the classics more than more modern ones!

        Like

      3. One time, I was leant like five classic movies when school was cancelled for four days thanks to snow. We were leant West Side Story, Fiddler on the Roof, South Pacific, Camelot, and Oklahoma.

        One part dad brought home some of his mother’s classic movie musicals and so have been watching those as well.

        I do love some of the modern musicals as a matter of fact. Yes some were revivals, but in a way count as modern, which includes Pippin. Modern musicals start from the 1980s. Modern ones I love are Les Mis, Phantom of the Opera, Rent, Newsies, Wicked, etc.

        Like

Leave a Reply

