Popular Analysis

As a matter of fact, pink is my favorite color. My favorite outfit that Glinda wears is the dress that she wears during Popular. Popular is my favorite song from Wicked because the main thing I remember about seeing Wicked on Broadway with my mom in 2006 was the fact that the song, Popular, was my favorite song from the show. So Popular has a wonderful connection to the first time I ever saw Wicked. Whenever I see Wicked, Popular makes me feel like a twelve year old the most even though the rest of it makes me feel the same age.

I find Popular to be a very special song from Wicked. This songs happens after Dancing Through Life. Both Glinda and Elphaba bonded during Dancing Through Life when Glinda made something special out of Elphaba’s dance. But Popular is really the moment where the two start to become best friends. The friendship found between Elphaba and Glinda is the core of Wicked. The friendship in Wicked gives me a bigger emotional connection than the love triangle.

Minor Spoilers:

The scene leading up to Popular is interesting as a matter of fact. The two girls share a secret with each other. Glinda is quite crazy in what she said because she said that Fiyero and her are going to get married, but it is funny because he hasn’t proposed. Well, one big reason why I love Glinda is her comic nature. Elphaba shares something very personal to Glinda. She explains her family situation. She explains that her father hates her because for one she is green and because he blames her for why her mother died and why Nessa is disabled. That was all due to because her father feared Nessa would turn out green so he made her mother eat milk flowers. Well, Glinda tries to explain that it wasn’t her fault.

In Popular, Glinda decides to try to give Elphaba a makeover. It is a very funny song in the musical. Glinda wants to help Elphaba feel more accepted. Well, this is really the moment where you realize that they will become friends. At the end, Glinda says “pink goes good with green” hoping to make Elphaba more beautiful since she is well green. In an acting class, I once performed Popular and this is quite a fun song. Glinda is my favorite comic character in the world of musicals and she is the main form of comedy in Wicked.

Unknown

Boy, this song is hard to analyze. It just has special meaning to me due to it being my favorite song from the musical as a twelve year old.

What are your thoughts on this song?

Pink

Author: mphadventuregirl

I am a strong spiritual person who is a big fan of musicals. This blog deals with spirituality and musicals. I am finding that by writing about these, I am realizing I know more about each of them then I think I do. I hope you find my blog inspiring!

14 thoughts on “Popular Analysis”

      1. I first saw Wicked when I was in Japan and was pretty small so I don’t remember too much about it, but I do remember Popular, even though I couldn’t understand a word of it! I remember when I found the German version a few years later and really reconnected with the song again. “Popular”, along with “Dancing Through Life” hold the most memories with me.

        Like

      2. I wish I remembered more about seeing Wicked on Broadway. Even though I hardly remember seeing Wicked on Broadway, the impact clearly shows and in a way how it has changed over the years is noticeable too

        Like

      3. Definitely! I also wish I remembered more about the first time I saw Wicked as I’m sure it was an amazing production (even if I wouldn’t have been able to understand it)! Wicked definitely has been impactful to me in my life!

        Like

      4. My first time was on Broadway so I really feel like it was such an incredible experience.

        Each time I have seen Wicked since, I always feel like that same 12 year old. Each time, my vulnerable level seems to increase as I get to know Elphaba more and more.

        Wicked was to key to unlocking the emotional side of musicals. It was key to unlocking the complex nature as well because I was able to pick up that Wicked was complex by high school or in high school.

        So without Wicked, complexity and emotional value may not have been able to begin

        Like

      5. I was 12 so I was at the right age to begin to understand that. Musicals were no longer just about the spectacle and dance. They began to be more about emotion, spectacle and dance and complexity.

        To be a musical fan, there has to be some show where you start to understand the emotional side of things. Wicked would be that show while Les Mis would challenge everything I had taught myself growing up in absolutely everything

        Like

      6. Same, Wicked is the spectace/dance natured, fantasy, more relatable, musical comedy. Les Mis on the other hand is the epic, passionate, revolutionary, inspirational musical tragedy

        Like

      7. I relate to Wicked more than Les Mis only because in Wicked, I fully relate to a character while in Les Mis, I don’t fully relate to a character. Wicked is the most meaningful musical of my younger years while Les Mis is the most meaningful musical of my college years

        Like

      8. I think the characters in Wicked are more relatable while the subject of Les Miz is more relatable for me. Les Miz’s story has always struck me as more relatable because of my interest in history and revolutions, I think, so I can kinda see the student’s excitement in myself as well

        Like

      9. I relate to the spirituality of Les Mis. I relate to the friendship of Elphaba and Glinda and my personal relationship with Elphaba.

        Also this might be something. Don’t know if it is something I relate to. But I do have a deep connection to those living in poverty so that might have something to do with that obsession of mine

        The only things in common between these two plot is being home to a love triangle. Both are fascinating, but for Wicked, even more fascinated than the other. Both have all have main emotions of excitement, love, joy, sad, and heartbreak, but in different variations and amounts

        Like

Leave a Reply

