Letter to Marius

Dear Marius,

Possible Major or Minor Spoilers:

Many people in the fandom never seem to see past your romantic side. They have even called you a jerk for the most absurd of reasons. That was only due to the fact that you had no clue Eponine loved you and they believe you don’t treat her fairly. I don’t believe that is true at all. You are not a jerk at all in my opinion. I am so thankful that you treated Eponine with kindness. She needed that due to how empty and lonely her life is. You were well aware of how dark Eponine’s life was. But you were able to provide light in her life. In addition, fans feel like you should have loved Eponine and not Cosette. Well, I believe you and Cosette make an incredible couple.

You are not just a romantic person in my opinion. You were also a revolutionary as well. Yes, once you fell in love with Cosette, you were more concerned with Cosette than the rebellion. You are such a sweet, kind, and compassionate person in my opinion.

unknown

Wow, I cannot believe you faced so much trauma at the barricade. First, you had to watch Eponine die and later all of your other friends died in front of you. I cannot imagine how traumatic that most of been for you.

You did try to protect Eponine from getting shot at the barricade, but she still got shot. I am so glad you decided to be with her while she died. Some people think you were a bigger jerk at her death because you just realized she loved you. That is the silliest thing I ever heard. You were so sweet and compassionate here even though her death left you devastated. You decided to stay brave for her and decided to be there for her. You were quite compassionate in this scene and I love you for that.

images-1

First Eponine and later you were the only survivor at the barricade. If you weren’t in love with Cosette, you would have died at the barricade. The letter you gave Cosette was read by Jean Valjean. Out of love for his daughter, he decided to head over to the barricade to protect you. If it wasn’t for him, you would have died as well. But still, I wish there were more survivors from the rebellion. All you have left at the end is Cosette and all Cosette has is you. Still you may be one of the survivors of the musical, but you still did not have a not so happy ending due to what happened at the barricades.

 

Author: mphadventuregirl

I am a strong spiritual person who is a big fan of musicals. This blog deals with spirituality and musicals. I am finding that by writing about these, I am realizing I know more about each of them then I think I do. I hope you find my blog inspiring!

10 thoughts on “Letter to Marius”

  1. Love this letter to Marius! Everything you said is spot-on! Marius definitely tends to be unfairly treated by fans and doesn’t get the appreciation he deserves. Marius is definitely a character that I think is much-maligned for literally no good reason at all.

    Like

    1. So true. Of the survivors, he is my favorite character. Why do people forget that there is more to him than the romantic that he is. He still has that revolutionary side of him and he is a wonderful young man. I wish people would understand just how sweet, compassionate, and kind of a person he is

      Like

      1. So glad that both of us see beyond his romantic side. He is friends with Eponine and a member of the friends of the ABC. Why would people overlook his revolutionary nature and the kindness he shows Eponine? Those two parts are Marius too as well

        Like

      2. I also wish people would see Marius and Cosette as a wonderful pairing. That is part of where people’s dislike comes from. I want Marius and Cosette together or else that would screw up so much of what Les Mis is

        Like

      3. Cosette represents light in this tragic tale so Marius needed to stay alive for the musical. Cosette and Marius are a wonderful pairing. I love that Marius and Cosette end up together. The love triangle of Les Mis is wonderful just the way it is

        Like

      4. The love triangle isn’t silly like others think. I love that Marius and Cosette love each other while Eponine gets the unrequited love. It works that way perfectly and I am already emotionally connected to how it currently is. Due to the switch that happens between Eponine and Cosette, which fascinates me so much, is why it makes perfect sense why the love triangle is set up the way it is

        Like

Leave a Reply

