My Vision of Musicals

Everyone has a vision of what they want from a musical.  My vision of musicals was created while I was growing up. I grew up watching movie musicals like Aladdin, Beauty and the Beast, Lion King, Grease, Sound of Music, and Annie. I even grew up seeing musicals in the theatre and those musicals included things like Lion King, Beauty and the Beast, and Wicked. So below I will take about what I expect from a musical.

First things first is the songs. I want to be connected to the songs. The songs are key to any musical. I want to love the songs. The main emotions come through the songs. I want songs to be memorable and emotional. I want the songs to feel like they belong in the musical they are in. Growing up, there was one type of song that I commonly associated with musical and those are the songs that tend to start out slow and eventually slow up. I even look for love songs and sad songs.

Next thing belongs to the characters. No matter what they are going through, I want to care about their journeys. The characters make me love the songs even more. Just like the songs, I want the characters to be memorable. I want the characters to be complex and strong. I want the characters to feel real. I also look for relatability, but I can’t relate to the character, I look for something that makes them stand out.

Next thing belongs to the plot. Just like the characters, I want the plot to be complex, strong, and relatable. I tend to look for multiple storylines. I want there to be a certain amount of conflict. Conflict plays a key role in the emotions. Conflict affects whether or not the songs have just positive emotions or if the songs have a combination of positive and negative emotions.

When it comes to all three, I want to be emotionally connected. I want my emotional connection to be strong enough to truly care about the different character’s emotions. When it comes to the negative emotions, I want those songs to have vulnerability, fragility, and beauty. I only can seem to love feeling the negative emotions if my emotional connection to the songs, characters, and story are strong enough.

Another part of my vision has to do with comedy. Growing up, I wanted a musical to be happy or a comedy itself. Now that I am older and know that tragic musicals exist, I look at the aspect of comedy very differently. I want some comic aspect in a musical.

unknown-1

My vision also includes spectacle and dance. Just like songs, the spectacle and dance add to the experience. Dance in my opinion is an example of spectacle. Those two elements make an experience unique. Sometimes spectacle helps with believability because they can help you believe in settings such as the land of OZ, an enchanted castle, or the wilds of Africa. But not all musicals have spectacle and dance.

maxresdefault

Overall, what I am really looking for is the emotional connection. Recently I discovered that I can still fall in love with a musical without the dance or spectacle. When that happens, I want the emotional connection to be strong enough to make up for the loss of spectacle and dance. So the emotional connection is really the key to falling in love with a musical. So what I want really is a strong score, memorable and complex characters, and a complex and strong plot. However, spectacle and dance is still part of my vision when it comes to musicals.

Some of the best plots and songs tend to be quite powerful. I want the positive and negative emotions to be a part of the show. It sounds crazy that I want to feel the negative emotions in the songs, but it really works even though they can hurt. I tend to love the negative emotions the most when they are beyond the mild world.

What is your vision of a musical?

Author: mphadventuregirl

I am a strong spiritual person who is a big fan of musicals. This blog deals with spirituality and musicals. I am finding that by writing about these, I am realizing I know more about each of them then I think I do. I hope you find my blog inspiring!

6 thoughts on “My Vision of Musicals”

    1. In elementary school, spectacle and dance meant the most, but not the emotions. But starting in middle school, the emotions started mattering more and more when it comes to plot and characters thanks to Wicked.

      But once Les Mis entered, I realized that I can still love a musical without the spectacle and dance. It made me love emotions differently than the way I did when I was younger

      Like

      1. With Wicked, I began to understand the emotional side of music and that was key to knowing the emotions of musicals both positive and negative.

        Before Les Mis, I thought I knew the emotional side of musicals really well. But Les Mis said, there is so much more capability than I once believed. That is due to the fact that I had no clue what it meant for a song to be heartbreaking.

        Then again, what musicals have become today came in stages. Started with loving spectacle and dance, to beginning to understand emotions and emotional connection, and eventually having the emotions being tested through being introduced to heartbreak and knowing that there are tragedies in world of musicals

        Like

      2. Les Mis showed me that tragedy can go beyond heartbreak, which I once disbelieved. Les Mis shows how in spite of tragedy, there is still hope, compassion, forgiveness, love, redemption, and humanity. Les Mis made me explore emotions differently since I was exploring emotions through the eyes of tragedies.

        Les Mis made it easier to spot negative emotions and darkness in other musicals. It is the most meaningful musical of my college years

        Like

Leave a Reply

