Favorite Female Musical Characters: Part Two

Yesterday, I wrote a list of some of my favorite female characters. Today’s post will be talking about these characters more in detail and why I love. them.

Possible Spoilers (Major or Minor):

First up is Elphaba, one of the main protagonists of Wicked. Of all musical characters, she is my favorite. I love her so much and I have loved her since middle school. The reason why I love Elphaba so much is because of how much I can relate to her. Like me, she is smart, determined, talkative, big-hearted, unique, and believes in equality and staying true to herself. She is strong, complex, and courageous and those are three main characteristics I look for in a musical character. I admire the courage that she shows and how she stands up for what she believes in.

The second best character is Glinda. Glinda is the other protagonist of Wicked. She is very outgoing and comical. Glinda is Elphaba’s best friend. These two girls both fall in love with Fiyero, which creates this really complex love triangle. You cannot really separate Elphaba and Glinda. Glinda is a comical character who eventually has to put with some very painful things especially in act II.

unknown

The third best character is Eponine. I feel like Eponine should be my second best favorite female character, but I can’t seem to separate Elphaba and Glinda. Eponine is daughter of the Thenardiers. The Thenardiers are not the best of parents and after Cosette left, they started horribly abusing her and raised her to be a criminal. Eponine lives a very empty life filled with lots of darkness. What I find interesting about Eponine is how despite being a Thenardier, she still has some redeeming qualities about her and is not quite like her parents.

She only has one source of light in her miserable existence, who is Marius, the only person who ever showed her kindness. That is why she loves him and I believe it is part of why she grows up with some moral compass. Even though he doesn’t love her, she puts aside her happiness for the sake of his. She constantly shows true love towards him and she risks her life several times. Eponine is strong, complex, brave, loyal, and loving, which are wonderful characteristics to have. Eponine is the character I will be dressing up as at the Les Mis party I am going to this summer.

images-1

Another female Les Mis character I love is Young Cosette. Young Cosette reminds me of Eponine in a way. She is living with the Thenardiers and like Eponine, she gets horribly abused. The Thenardiers force her to be a servant and things aren’t going too well for Young Cosette. She gets through the abuse through the fantasies she creates. Young Cosette is a character who has hopes that she will eventually get rescued. She eventually gets rescued by Jean Valjean after he promised her mother that he will raise Cosette as his own.

unknown-2

Another Les Mis character is Fantine. Fantine is Cosette’s mother and loves her a lot. Everything Fantine does is for the sake of Cosette. Fantine’s storyline is the hardest one to watch and she eventually has to become a prostitute in order to provide for her daughter. The real heartbreaking part is that she has no clue that the Thenardiers are horribly abusing her daughter and that they are scamming her out of money. She doesn’t even know that the letter she received at the factory is a hoax. I love Fantine because she is such a wonderful mother whose actions are the sake of her daughter.

images

Annie is a musical character I have loved since elementary school. She is a very simple character. I love that she is optimistic and love how she decides to adopt Sandy, a stray dog she finds on the street.

images

Belle is another female character I love. She loves books and love the relationship she has with her father. When her father is taken captive by the Beast, she agrees to take his place to get him out. That was a very brave thing to do. She teaches the Beast how to love and teaches him that he is more than he believes. Belle is able to realize that beauty comes from within. Belle is a character I first witnessed in elementary school, but she recently reentered my life when I saw the live version of the storyline. I cannot believe I forgot that I loved Belle as a child.

Unknown

 

Author: mphadventuregirl

I am a strong spiritual person who is a big fan of musicals. This blog deals with spirituality and musicals. I am finding that by writing about these, I am realizing I know more about each of them then I think I do. I hope you find my blog inspiring!

10 thoughts on “Favorite Female Musical Characters: Part Two”

    1. I cannot seem to love a character if the songs they sing aren’t any good or if I feel like their songs are not right for the character.

      Musical characters have the advantage of expressing emotions over play characters. Musical characters express their emotions through song. If they are not willing to share their emotions to another character, they are willing to sing them out to the audiences. The songs show the real beauty of characters

      Like

      1. 100% agree. The songs really make the characters an “open book” and kinda provide a sort of “portal to their soul” as it were. The songs really do help in making a character understandable and likeable to the audience!

        Like

      2. Even what songs are about. It also depends on who sings the songs. Sometimes what a song is about can surprise. I am always surprised by how many melodies exist in the world of musicals

        Like

Leave a Reply

