Favorite Male Musical Characters: Part 2

Yesterday, I wrote a list of my favorite male musical characters. Today, I will explain why I love them.

Possible Spoilers:

First up is Jean Valjean. He is the protagonist of Les Misérables. I love him because of his transformation. He is an ex-convict who has been imprisoned unjustly. He was sentenced for five years because he stole a loaf of bread to save his sister’s son. Because of trying to escape, he was imprisoned for nineteen years. When he was released, he was a hateful, harsh, and angry man. He realized that society was treat him poorly because he was an ex-convict. Through an act of mercy, compassion, and forgiveness by the bishop, Valjean was able to start his life fresh.

Years laters, he started to live by the example provided by the bishop. He was no longer angry, harsh, and hateful. He began to show compassion towards the poor. He decided to help the prostitute, Fantine, after he intervened to prevent her from being arrested. On her deathbed, Valjean promised to raise her daughter, Cosette, as his own. Valjean has this strong spirituality and is one of the reasons why Les Mis is inspirational.

unknown

Another set of Les Mis male characters I love are Gavroche, Enjolras and the students. They are a group of revolutionaries who are planning to start a rebellion. They stand up for what they believe in and they continue to stay passionate and hopeful. Even when they know they are going to lose, they still are passionate towards their cause. Of all the students, Enjolras is their leader and the most passionate about the cause.

A lot of their songs are passionate and hopeful, but in “Drink With Me”, they feel quite hopeless because they know are going to lose, but they always stay passionate. I love how they decide to take in Gavroche, a heroic boy. Gavroche is a Thenardier and the students become his family.

tumblr_mg1is1kwwr1qkk5w8o1_500

unknown

A group of characters that is similar to the students in Les Mis are the Newsies. Just like the students, they stand up for what they believe in. The Newsies are like this big one family with Jack Kelly as their leader. Of all the Newsies, my favorites are Jack and Crutchie. I love the bond they have for each other, which is clearly shown during “Santa Fe (Prologue). You discover Jack is quite protective of Crutchie. Jack is a well rounded character because he has a hobby of drawing and he eventually goes through inner conflict after seeing Crutchie being arrested after this big fight breaks out.

In Wicked, I love the character of Fiyero. But the problem is I cannot exactly pinpoint why I love him. I don’t know if has something to do with his songs or his costumes of something completely different. He starts out the story with not really caring much about anything. He is involved in a very complicated and ironic love triangle with Elphaba and Glinda. I honestly wish I know why I love this character.

images

Another male character I love is the Beast. I love how complex of a character he is. I love how he eventually learned to love. At the beginning, the Beast started out as angry. I don’t blame him especially after he had to live his life as beast the enchantress put a spell on him. He had to live his life as a beast and would stay that way if he didn’t learn to love. But when he met Belle, everything changed. Belle taught him the importance of love and she learned to see that there is more to the Beast than the temper he always seems to have.

Unknown

What are some your favorite male musical characters?

Author: mphadventuregirl

I am a strong spiritual person who is a big fan of musicals. This blog deals with spirituality and musicals. I am finding that by writing about these, I am realizing I know more about each of them then I think I do. I hope you find my blog inspiring!

27 thoughts on “Favorite Male Musical Characters: Part 2”

  1. Really great post! Personally, one of my favorite male characters is Raoul from Phantom. I’ve always thought that he was one of the sweetest, kind-hearted characters I’ve ever come across. His general selflessness has always been something that I’ve adored!

    Like

    1. I still honestly don’t know Raoul that well, but aware that he and Christine make a wonderful couple. Crazy how on this post decided to talk about the males that stand out from the last post with the list. Crazy that I choose to do Fiyero when I don’t know why I love him and I have loved Wicked since 2006 and still fell like I hardly know him

      Next set of musical posts will be similar to the last two male posts, but instead will be focusing on the females. Just like the males, will have one post just be a list of my favorites and the second post more in detail.

      Like

      1. I don’t know if most of my favorite characters are female or male. In a way it feels like most are male since two come in groups (Newsies and the Students of the ABC).

        Like

      2. I think that is one of the unique things about Newsies and one reason why the show stands out. Of course the mind-blowing dance and this inspiring true story are unique. But the whole male cast thing is quite unique

        Like

      3. I am so used to casts being quite mixed between females and males in the leads and the ensemble. But with Newsies that isn’t the case. I feel like the meaningful musicals tend to have something that make them stand out

        Like

      4. There is a reason why Newsies, Wicked, Sound of Music, Annie, Rent, and Les Mis are all meaningful to me. But they do share one common bond with each other: they all have an emotional connection of some sort and I do have joy feeling all their emotions.

        Like

      5. A musical sometimes becomes meaningful on the first day I experience it. Or don’t see it as meaningful until later in the journey. It can be difficult sometimes to describe why a musical is meaningful. But some make perfect sense as to why they are meaningful.

        Wicked and Les Mis are two examples of that. Without the two of them, who knows what would have happened? Wicked sparked the love and was key to start understanding emotions. Les Mis turned the love into a passion and made me start thinking of emotions deeper than ever before and challenging my way of thinking about musicals. Those two were key to me becoming the musical fanatic I am today

        Like

      6. Some I have fallen in love through just songs alone then eventually found a way to get the first full experience. Les Mis would start over in its journey in a way when I gave it a second chance in 2013. Les Mis is an example of falling in love through a movie and later catching the stage show. But Newsies is an example of hearing like four songs first and enjoying them, but not fully, and falling in love through the stage show

        Like

      7. My mom recommended Phantom to me early 2013 and I automatically fell in love with the songs so I asked my mom will she take me to Phantom some day. I fell in love with in 2014 in May when my mom took me and I was quite spellbound and it was like I was under the Phantom’s spell. I was choked up watching that performance.

        Like

      8. Phantom is one of those musicals that I absolutely adore seeing live. It’s one of the best musicals to experience in that live setting, I think! The set and costumes are beautiful and man, it’s a lot of fun

        Like

      9. I feel like any dance or spectacle natured show works better in a live setting. Or any musical with a strong emotional nature. They all work better. Than again nothing is like seeing a musical live

        Like

      10. That is due to the fact that a lot of times emotions are stronger because you are seeing the actors right in front of you and no performance is exactly the same. Levels of excitement, joy, and love are greater and those three are key to having an fantastic experience. I find even negative emotions to be stronger live.

        Like

      11. exactly why dance and spectacle fares better. Next set of musical posts will focus on the female characters: first being a list of female character and the second being more in detail and pick some from that list

        Like

Leave a Reply

