Letter to Elphaba, Fiyero, and Glinda

Dear Elphaba, Fiyero, and Glinda

You three are my favorite characters in Wicked. Elphaba: I know exactly why I love you. But Glinda and Fiyero, that reason is so hard to pinpoint. Elphaba, I feel like I relate to you so much, but of course I don’t relate to everything. Elphaba, like you I am smart, determined, talkative, unique, and believe in equality, and staying true you yourself. Glinda, I have some reasons why I love you. A huge part of it is your friendship with Elphaba and I love your comic side a lot. But Fiyero, I honestly cannot pinpoint the exact reason why I love you. Fiyero, I feel like it has something to do with the love triangle, but there has to be other reasons.

You three, I decided to talk about you three today due to the love triangle. I love the love triangle in this musical. You three create the most complex and fascinating one. That is due to what happens in act two. Glinda, you started out being in a relationship with Fiyero. But Elphaba, you started out with feeling unrequited love for Fiyero. But in act two, the tables are turned. Now Glinda, Fiyero broke up with you and began a relationship with Elphaba. Fiyero, I feel like you had a crush on Elphaba in act one without even realizing it.

To be honest, it took a less complex love triangle to understand this one better. I honestly am not joking about that. In Les Mis, there is a love triangle and there is no unrequited love shift and the unrequited love is felt even stronger and even more heartbreaking. “I’m Not That Girl” started out as being sad and eventually became heartbreaking. For the longest time ever, “I’m Not That Girl” stayed sad. That was due to not knowing about heartbreak growing up. Les Mis introduced me to that emotion. At first, I also didn’t realize “On My Own” was heartbreaking and that song is about Eponine’s unrequited love for Marius and at first, I didn’t see the heartbreak either, but as I got to know that character more and more, I realized that song was heartbreaking.

I know you three may not be familiar with Les Mis. But it helped me better understand your love triangle. Due to the parallel between “On My Own” and “I’m Not That Girl”, your love triangle strengthened and made me love it even more. That realization made me feel even more vulnerable to the story. Due to the unrequited love shift, it is fascinating to watch. Besides, you were the first love triangle I was fully aware of.

What are your thoughts on the Wicked love triangle?

Author: mphadventuregirl

I am a strong spiritual person who is a big fan of musicals. This blog deals with spirituality and musicals. I am finding that by writing about these, I am realizing I know more about each of them then I think I do. I hope you find my blog inspiring!

Leave a Reply

