Favorite Moments in Musicals

Below is a list of favorite moments I have when going to a musical.

  1. Hearing the overture
  2. Listening to the orchestra
  3. The joy of falling love with a new musical
  4. When a musical song start outs slow and suddenly speeds up
  5. When you realize you have an emotional connection to the material
  6. Realizing that a musical will be meaningful
  7. Falling in love with a character if you are seeing the musical for the first time
  8. If a musical is a duet, when the song becomes a duet
  9. When the emotion of a song truly begins
  10. The moment you realize you love the entire plot
  11. Whenever there is a crescendo
  12. If a musical is dance musical, the moment where the dance truly becomes alive
  13. In a spectacle musical, each time you see spectacle
  14. When you see a musical again, discovering something new about a character especially a favorite one

So these are some of my favorite things I love about seeing a musical either new or old. There are so many reasons why all musicals are joyful. In my opinion, the first emotion you feel drives the rest of the show. Excitement and joy tend to be the first two emotions you feel due to the overture and the first couple of notes of the orchestra. All musicals are joyful due to the experience and all emotions have joy in them no matter what. I say that because I only love feeling the negative emotions if I can find appreciation in them, which only happens if I love the songs they are in along with the musical itself. The negative emotions need support in order to be worth feeling.

Author: mphadventuregirl

I am a strong spiritual person who is a big fan of musicals. This blog deals with spirituality and musicals. I am finding that by writing about these, I am realizing I know more about each of them then I think I do. I hope you find my blog inspiring!

8 thoughts on “Favorite Moments in Musicals”

    1. Nothing is like the power of live theatre. Joy and excitement and love comes from the actual experience and is not just limited to the show itself. Due to the actual experience, excitement, joy, and love are the strongest musical emotions and without them, other musical emotions especially the negative emotions wouldn’t even work at all

      Like

      1. When I see a play, I feel more bored. But when I see a musical, I feel much more joy and excitement.

        The power of live theatre comes from the fact that no show is exactly the same. I know this firsthand. Four years, I saw Les Mis live for the first time ever. I saw that production three times due to ushering twice and saw it once with my family. Same cast, three shows, three different performances

        Like

      2. With Les Mis, the West End cast will always be special to me. I know in December if I see Les Mis, there will be a high chance I will love the cast just as much.

        2013 was an interesting year of musicals too. I saw Wicked a 3rd time that year with my dad and it was his 1st time going and yet gave me the better seat after the tallest guy in the auditorium sat in front of. Les Mis was that same year. So the two musicals that are neck in neck tied I saw in the exact same year

        Like

Leave a Reply

