Happy Musicals of the More Recent Years that I have Seen

Musicals have been part of my life since elementary school. I spent my entire life with happy musicals. I thought it would be interesting to bring up a list of the more recent musicals.

  1. Annie Get Your Gun
  2. Seven Brides for Seven Brothers
  3. Easter Parade
  4. White Christmas
  5. South Pacific
  6. Meet Me In St Louis
  7. Oklahoma
  8. Frozen
  9. Tangled
  10. Bye Bye Birdie
  11. Music Man
  12. Pippin
  13. Newsies
  14. Cinderella
  15. Singing in the Rain
  16. My Fair Lady

 

I feel like the happy musicals grow faster than ever before. Before, the number of happy musicals would not grow as fast. Before it would take more than five years to know about that number of musicals. Even today, the musical world is still dominated by happy musicals. I still associate musicals with them. Most musicals are happy and I hope it stays that way for many years to come.

One reason why the happy musicals grows faster is due to the fact that I have a Broadway Pandora Station. It also is due to the fact that I love musicals more than I ever have. I got to see South Pacific and Oklahoma when the movies were leant to my family back in 2014 when I was still at community college and school was cancelled for four days due to snow. Because I am a bigger fan of musicals, I am seeing them more often and I am including movies in this. Most musicals I have seen are musicals I have first seen through their movie adaptation.

As a matter of fact, the happy musicals are better than ever. Thanks to sad musicals like Les Mis and Rent, I noticed it was easier to spot darkness and negative emotions in happy musicals.

Newsies is the newest meaningful musical of my life. I remember while watching the show, the main character, Jack Kelly, goes through some inner conflict starting at the end of act one. I was able to feel sad very innocently during his solo, “Santa Fe”. I remember feeling darkness in Pippin. At least one or two years after seeing the movie, South Pacific, I was able to pick up on heartbreak during “This Nearly Was Mine”. There was a time where I didn’t know what it meant for a musical song to be heartbreaking. Before, the negative emotions could easily be forgotten about, but now, they are stronger than ever.

 

 

Author: mphadventuregirl

I am a strong spiritual person who is a big fan of musicals. This blog deals with spirituality and musicals. I am finding that by writing about these, I am realizing I know more about each of them then I think I do. I hope you find my blog inspiring!

16 thoughts on “Happy Musicals of the More Recent Years that I have Seen”

    1. Some of those most recent musicals, I don’t even remember the songs at all. The ones that I love the most on this list are South Pacific, Pippin, Music Man, Singing in the Rain and White Christmas

      Like

  1. Um, are we the same person? I’m actually giddy at your list because there were some on there that I have not seen in years and I miss so much (Oklahoma!, Seven Brides, White Christmas, and My Fair Lady to name a few). Honestly, you have great taste! I’m going to check out some of the unfamiliar ones on this list… I’ve been trying to get around to listening to Pippin for ages. Do you have any particular recommendations?

    Like

  2. I quite love Seven Brides for Seven Brothers and I just watched Bye Bye Birdie for the first time a few days ago and also love it.

    Btw, how are you defining “more recent years”, lol? Like from what year do you start considering these musicals as being “recent”?

    Like

    1. I watch White Christmas every December. The happy musicals are an important part of my musical journey. I spent my entire life with happy musicals and most of the musicals I have seen are happy.

      Through happy musicals, I learned about dance, spectacle, love, excitement, joy, sad, comedy, and emotional connections. That was what I knew growing and I believed all musicals were happy

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Wow, love your posts! I’ve been a musical fan since high school, and became an avid broadway-goer since moving to New York! Are you studying arts in college??

    Like

    1. Well I am studying Sociology as my major, but minoring in Cultural Studies with Concentration in Spanish and minoring in Theatre.

      My other passion is volunteering specifically for those living in poverty. I hope to open a Nonprofit where I combine my two biggest passion into one.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

