Musical Character Connection vs Entire Musical Connection

This does sound bizarre, but I do believe there is a difference between an emotional connection to a musical character and an emotional connection to the entire musical. That sounds really bizarre because you would think both mean the same thing, but in reality they really don’t. But sometimes your emotional connection a character is the same thing to an emotional connection to the entire musical .

Wicked is a musical I have an emotional connection to Elphaba and love Fiyero and Glinda as well. My emotional connection to Elphaba does connect to my emotional connection to the entire show. I don’t have emotional connections to Nessa, Boq, Madmae Morrible, and the Wizard. But I do have an emotional connection to the entire show thanks to my personal relationship with Elphaba and the friendship found between Elphaba and Glinda and the love triangle between Elphaba, Glinda, and Fiyero.

images

Even my emotional connection in Newsies is the same thing as my emotional connection to the entire musical. I actually have two emotional connections in this show. I have an emotional connection in the intimate relationship found between the friendship between Jack and Crutchie. I even have an emotional connection to all of the Newsies. The story is about the Newsies after all, which is why my emotional connection to the Newsies is the same as my emotional connection to the entire show.

s9-zachary-sayle-crutchie-and-joey-barreiro-jack-kelly-adisney-photo-by-shane-gutierrez

Even in Beauty and the Beast, I only have emotional connections to Beast and Belle and characters like Lumiere and Cogsworth and Chip and Mrs. Potts. But I don’t have an emotional connection to Gaston. It is more important for me to be emotionally connected to Belle instead of Gaston. Having an emotional connection to Belle and Beast is important because the plot centers around them.

Unknown-1

But can you have an emotional connection to a character, but have zero emotional connection to the actual plot? Yes, that is very possible. I love Anna from King and I, but I am not fully emotionally connected to the entire plot and the show isn’t even meaningful to me. Even in Little Shop of Horrors, I only love Seymour and Audrey, but just don’t have an emotional connection to the plot.

The emotional connections are highly important. Usually the songs are what forms the emotional connection. I feel like you need an emotional connection to both the characters and the plot. True, there some characters I don’t have an emotional connection to in certain musicals. I don’t have an emotional connection to Madame Morrible, the Wizard or like any antagonist or villain, but a few expectations. Honestly, your emotional connection might also have to do with the portrayal of characters.

I don’t have an emotional connection to Javert exactly, but the last time I saw Les Mis live, I found some emotional connection to that character. I honestly have no emotional connection to the Thenardiers either. Despite that, I have an emotional connection to the entire show. I don’t relate to the characters that well in Les Mis, but I do have an emotional connection to Jean Valjean’s story, Fantine’s story, the love triangle found between Eponine, Cosette, and Marius and have an emotional connection to Enjolras, Gavroche and the students. You can’t have an emotional connection to a plot if you don’t have an emotional connection to characters.

The emotional connections are why every scene in a musical has joy in them even in heartbreaking or bittersweet moments. The songs form an emotional connection very easily. I feel like it is important to be emotionally connected to the protagonist’s story and if there are subplots, it is important to be emotionally connected to some of them because they help support the main plot. Having joy in every emotion is connected to the experience and connects to an emotional conation to the plot and characters and the fact that if you care enough about the characters and their journeys, you accept the emotions that you are feeling.

An amazing amount of musicals have some heartbreaking or sad moments. I understand that sad was a main emotion starting in middle school. I wasn’t 100% blind to the negative in those days, but I was 100% blind to heartbreak.

I know this sounds crazy. But there really is a difference between an emotional connection to characters and emotional connection to plot. However they are very interconnected and depend on each other.

Author: mphadventuregirl

I am a strong spiritual person who is a big fan of musicals. This blog deals with spirituality and musicals. I am finding that by writing about these, I am realizing I know more about each of them then I think I do. I hope you find my blog inspiring!

20 thoughts on “Musical Character Connection vs Entire Musical Connection”

      1. Exactly. The negative emotions are tough emotions and if you don’t care about the characters or plot, you would be like I would rather not feel those emotions because you just don’t care about them.

        But when you do care, you are like I want to feel the musical character emotions. You care enough about them to want to feel hurt whenever they do

        Like

      2. Yep! Negative emotions have strength in that, in understanding them, they can help you to care more for characters/plots you already care about. However, if the attachment is not already there, the negative emotions could very well potentially drive a person away from the story/characters.

        Like

      3. Its crazy how the best way to describe an emotional connection is through the negative emotions. But than again makes sense because the positive naturally feel good and works very well. But the negative emotions need some kind of support in order for them to work and be worth feeling even if they are going to hurt you

        Like

      4. The negative emotions trace back a long way, but does not trace back to elementary school. It traces back to middle school. The negative emotions tend to grow slower than the positive emotions

        Like

      5. Each time I am home for breaks, I always find myself watching that movie. I saw some of the capability before Les Mis of the negative and was important that I knew that they knew they exited before Les Mis and that they are common

        Like

      6. Emotional connections are very important to the entire experience. You want to have joy, love, and excitement through the experience. The emotions that are part of the show itself become worth it and give you so much joy when its a show you love with characters you love.

        Its not just the songs that make me fall in love with a musical. It consists of so many things.

        Like

      7. Definitely. With musicals, it definitely takes more than just one good element for it to become well-loved. With musicals, there’re so many important elements that come together to create a masterpiece.

        Like

      8. Songs are key to many things though. You need incredible songs. Even dance and spectacle are things that make you fall in love with a musical. So many things add up and sometimes you don’t know what you connect to even when you know you love a musical

        Like

      9. You can love the plot but if the songs fall flat, it makes everything else seem like a complete flop. The songs are literally key to a musical. The songs are the ones that help you form emotional connections

        Like

Leave a Reply

