Excitement Found in Musicals

Of all musical emotions, excitement is the emotion that hasn’t been changed one bit. Of course, it wasn’t the only main emotion found in the musicals I grew up with. Those other emotions were joy, love, sad. But those three emotions changed a lot over the years especially in the more recent years due to heartbreak being discovered.

I remember growing up and associating musicals with a certain melody. That type of nature belonged to the exciting numbers. Those numbers have a habit of having spectacle or dance involved. Two of the most unique things about musicals are dance and spectacle. Growing up, I referred to the exciting numbers as “full of life”. But now that phrase belongs to an entire musical. Just like songs add something to the experience, so does dance and spectacle.

hqdefault

unknown

maxresdefault

Excitement has never once been altered. It is felt exactly the same way as it was felt in my younger years. One of the best parts about the exciting numbers is when the song reaches the point where the melody becomes fast. I have a vision when it comes to musicals and spectacle and dance are part of my vision.

Some shows found with dance or spectacle include Pippin, Newsies, Wicked, Lion King, Beauty and the Beast and Singing in the Rain. I associate the word, showtune, with exciting numbers especially the dance and spectacle numbers. Spectacle has existed in many forms. When I saw Newsies in August, I was looking forward to the dance because the show had Tony Award Winning Choreography and the dance ended up being mind-blowing. I find dance to be a kind of spectacle.

I feel like dance and spectacle helps with believability. In Wicked, the spectacle and dances helps you believe you are in OZ. In Beauty and the Beast, it makes you believe you are in an enchanted castle and the dance and spectacle in Lion King makes you believe you are in the wild of Africa.

There is no way excitement can be altered at all. It still hasn’t gone through a massive change. However, there are some exciting numbers that are not dance or spectacle oriented or have that quick of a melody. “Masquerade” and “One Day More” are two exciting numbers that are different than other exciting numbers. “Masquerade” has the dance and spectacle, but the melody is slow, but still feel exciting. “One Day More” is one of the best act one closers, but that exciting number doesn’t have dance or spectacle and the melody is quite powerful, epic, and passionate. So there are a few expectations to the regular nature of excitement.

Author: mphadventuregirl

I am a strong spiritual person who is a big fan of musicals. This blog deals with spirituality and musicals. I am finding that by writing about these, I am realizing I know more about each of them then I think I do. I hope you find my blog inspiring!

7 thoughts on “Excitement Found in Musicals”

      1. Here’s why I said that:

        For starters, not all musicals have those negative emotions. And some musicals do have the negative emotions, but are quite weak and honestly not that capable. And the positive emotions make you appreciate the negative emotions. Also don’t forget about one important aspect: you and your joy of seeing a musical. The negative emotions have limitations when it comes to musicals

        Like

Leave a Reply

