Musical Characters Who Show Courage

What does brave mean? In the musical world, there are characters who show courage. They show it in many ways. Below I will talk about some musical characters who show courage. In a lot of ways, these are characters that you can admire and fall in love with.

Possible Spoilers:

Elphaba is a character who shows courage. She shows courage despite how much she keeps on being misunderstood. She does not let anyone define who she is. She stands up for what she believes in even though she risks being up against the Wizard. Elphaba knows the Wizard will use her for the wrong reasons so she defies him and decides to go on her own path. Even though this act causes the Wizard to believe she is wicked, she still stays passionate towards her cause.

images

Enjolras, Gavroche, Marius and the students all show courage. They stay passionate towards what they believe in. They stand up against France’s weak government at the time. General Lamarque, the only left in the government who shows feelings for the poor, is dying. The students all decide to have an uprising. They are risking their lives for hope of a better France. They know they might die. After Eponine dies, they know they are outnumbered. But despite that, they stay stay passionate towards their cause. At the end all of the students died excluding Marius and even in death, they still were passionate towards their cause. Even Gavroche, who was just a boy, died on the barricades. The students were low on ammunition and he climbed over the barricade and died in the attempt.

tumblr_mg1is1kwwr1qkk5w8o1_500

Eponine is another character from Les Mis who shows courage. She has to face terrible abuse from her parents and has to deal with extreme poverty. But when it comes to Marius, she is very protective of him. She loves him so much that she is willing to do anything for him. Even though the love for him is unrequited, she helps him find Cosette even if it risks losing Marius forever. She even shows courage when her father is about to rob Valjean’s house and out of love for Marius, she screams to alert Cosette, Marius, and Valjean. This act of courage causes her father to disown since his daughter just defied him and prevented him from robbing Valjean’s house.

Despite the heartbreak of Eponine’s love for Marius, she decides to join Marius on the barricade. In the stage version, Marius noticing that Eponine is there sends her away to deliver a letter to Cosette and he does that in order to protect her from the uprising. Eponine still returned to the barricade and that led to unfortunate circumstances. In the movie, seeing that Marius was about to get shot, she sacrificed her life for him. The wounds she received were fatal and she ended up dying in the arms of Marius. In fact, dying in Marius’ arms was the happiest time of her life. Marius was heartbroken over the fact that Eponine was dying, but he still stayed brave for her and still showed compassion in this moment.

images-1

Jean Valjean showed courage as well. He showed courage after discovering that a man believed to be Valjean was going to be sent to jail. Valjean decided to intervene and prevented this man from being sent to prison. Valjean knows what it is like to be in prison and did want this man to face that same fate. He even showed courage after realizing that Cosette loves Marius. He learned that Marius is one of the student revolutionaries and went to the barricade to make sure Marius survives. When Marius falls unconscious, Valjean carried him to safety and the only way to escape was through the sewers.

unknown

Crazy just how many characters from Les Mis showed courage. They risked their life in order to protect others. Both Eponine and Valjean risked their lives for Marius. Eponine did it out of love for Marius and Valjean did it out of love for Cosette. The students and Gavroche showed courage out of love for France. It seems that a lot of the characters in Les Mis show courage out of love for either a country or even someone else.

Even all the Newsies show courage. They decided to go on strike against Pultizer after he raised the price on papers. Even when they stopped work, they still stayed passionate towards their cause. This does led to a big fight, but even after that fight, they still stayed passionate about the strike, but does cause a lot of inner conflict in Jack.

unknown

There is just something wonderful about musical characters who show courage. They can be admired. They teach you the importance of courage. In “Seize the Day” from Newsies, some of the lyrics are “courage cannot erase our fear. courage is when we face our fear”.  Courageous characters show the importance of standing up for what you believe in. All of the characters who show courage is one important characteristic to a well-written character. All of the characters I talked about are characters that I love.

Author: mphadventuregirl

I am a strong spiritual person who is a big fan of musicals. This blog deals with spirituality and musicals. I am finding that by writing about these, I am realizing I know more about each of them then I think I do. I hope you find my blog inspiring!

22 thoughts on “Musical Characters Who Show Courage”

    1. Most of these characters I talked about are characters that are much newer in my life. The Newsies and those Les Mis characters are so much fresher than Elphaba. The courageous characters never seem to be simple characters

      Like

      1. Most of the characters on this list are courageous for a cause: The Newsies Strike for instance of even The Students Passion for the Uprising.

        I feel like bravery is a characteristic to look for in a character and is a characteristic that can easily be admired

        Like

      2. Definitely. I think it’s awsome to see how many types of bravery someone can display! And you’re definitely right, they all have their own reasons for being brave and also have their own ways of being brave, I think

        Like

      3. I don’t even remember if I noticed bravery in Elphaba right away. It is crazy that each time I have seen Wicked, I picked up on something new about that character. Like last time, personality wise: I realized that she is talkative. Emotion wise: heartbreak and loneliness (knew that would happen) and frustration and anger (2 emotions that I wasn’t expecting due to always hating No Good Deed)

        Like

      4. Each time I always think I have discovered everything about Elphaba, but I always realize there is still more the picture.

        The 4th time, I knew in “I’m Not That Girl” that I was going to for the first time feel heartbroken in that number. That was the only thing new I believed I would find in Elphaba the 4th time around.

        But there was more. Leading up to “I’m Not Girl”, I remember something that Fiyero said to her: some like “do you ever let anyone else talk” and I found a new personality trait and I typically don’t remember spoken line.

        Than “No Good Deed” came. I came in thinking I was still going to dislike the song strongly and still not going to pick up on its emotion. But surprise surprise, I found appreciation of the song and finally picked up on emotions: anger and frustration. Discovering those two emotions while actually watching Wicked was more surprising than feeling heartbroken during I’m Not That Girl

        Like

      5. Even now, I still don’t know what else I can uncover about Elphaba. With No Good Deed, I had to discover the song was full of anger and frustration on the spot on the day I saw it the fourth time. But with I’m Not That Girl, I came in knowing it was heartbreaking and the other 3 times I failed to find that emotion. It was sometime in between the 3rd and 4th, I realized I’m Not That Girl was heartbreaking

        Like

      6. For me, Elphaba always seems to be evolving, as it were. I’m always seeing her relationships with Glinda and Fiyero a little differently, I’m always seeing her differently personality-wise. But through all of that, she’s still the same Elphaba

        Like

      7. Crazy its still the same girl but as I continue to get older, I find new things in her.

        I find it a bit crazy that I couldn’t realize I’m Not That Girl was heartbreaking the 3rd time around because it was 2013. By that point, I already knew about heartbreak in the world of musicals. I don’t even remember when I realized the song was heartbreaking: like at what point in between the 3rd time and that 4th did I pick up on that

        Like

      8. Yeah. It’s definitely interesting how it can work like that sometimes. I must say that while “On My Own” did help me realize “I’m Not That Girl” was heartbreaking, it wasn’t until I started comparing them that I drew the comparison

        Liked by 1 person

      9. I think the reason why I could not find “I’m Not That Girl” heartbreaking the 3rd time around was because at the time, I still didn’t accept heartbreak as a musical emotion. Even at time, I still wouldn’t have been able to make the comparison because I didn’t even have a love for Eponine at that viewing of Wicked. And it did take some time until I realized “On My Own” was heartbreaking.

        While On My Own helped me understand I’m Not That Girl was heartbreaking, it wasn’t until I actually decided to memorize the lyrics to I’m Not That Girl where I made parallels between the two songs. Before memorizing, I knew they were two unrequited love songs and even knew about heartbreak in both songs as well, but I didn’t find the insight in I’m Not That Girl until I actually memorized the lyrics

        Like

Leave a Reply

