King and I Review

Last night, I watched the movie of King and I. So far, I have not disliked a single Rodgers and Hammerstein musical. Coming into King and I, I already knew “Whistle a Happy Tune”, “Shall We Dance”, and “Getting to Know You”. I knew that Anna comes to Siam to teach the king’s several wives and children.

This movie was a really well-done movie. I really loved the character of Anna. She is such a strong-willed women and love that she learns to love all of the King’s children. She always has problems with the King since he is so stern and strict. The King is very stern and feels like Anna is a very difficult woman. This scenario reminds me of the Captain and Maria. In Sound of Music, the Captain is also strict and feels like Maria is a difficult woman. In both situations, the two learn to accept each other’s differences. But the main difference is that the Captain and Maria fall in love while the King and Anna don’t. I also loved the King’s children. Similar to Maria, Anna becomes a teacher which is like Maria becoming a governess.

The acting was incredible as well. The actors playing both Anna and the King of Siam were incredible. Both were believable in their roles. Even though the King and Anna never get into a romantic relationship, they still form some kind of relationship. There is a romantic relationship that happens in King and I, which is a sub-plot and that reminds me of two Rodgers and Hammerstein’s musicals. It has the tragic nature of the romance between Liat and Joe Cable and also reminds me of the relationship between Liesl and Raouf especially in the scene when one of the wives sneaks out to be with her boyfriend. All of the parallels that happen in Rodgers and Hammerstein musicals is interesting. Even though there happens to be parallels, the plots have never been predictable.

The costumes were incredible. The costumes shown on Anna and the King, his wives and children really show the difference in culture. The costumes of the King, his wives and the children had very colorful costumes. Anna’s costumes were more simple representing the fact that she is from England.

In this movie, you kind of learn about the culture of Siam. Some of the roles the King has does not make sense to me like why does the King’s head always have to higher than everyone else’s and why do children always have to bow to the king on the floor. Siam is current Thailand. I obviously loved the songs I knew coming into the musical, but I fell in love with some of the newly discovered ones.

So far, I have liked every single Rodgers and Hammerstein musical. My favorite one is still by far Sound of Music followed closely by South Pacific. They are one of my favorite composer and lyricist teams.

Author: mphadventuregirl

I am a strong spiritual person who is a big fan of musicals. This blog deals with spirituality and musicals. I am finding that by writing about these, I am realizing I know more about each of them then I think I do. I hope you find my blog inspiring!

12 thoughts on “King and I Review”

  1. I’ll be the first to admit that The King and I is most certainly not my favorite Rogers and Hammerstein musical. However, I did still manage to find appreciation for it! I think I had a lot of incorrect assumptions about the plot made up in my mind which might’ve diminished my enjoyment of the musical. However, I think my favorite part of the musical was probably found in the costumes and characters!

    Like

    1. It is not my favorite either. I so far have only seen four Rodgers and Hammerstein musicals. Sound of Music is #1 and I am not saying that because it is the only Rodgers and Hammerstein musical that has been with me my whole. South Pacific is a close second behind that one. I love Oklahoma more than King and I. King and I is a good musical even if its not amazing

      Like

      1. The Sound of Music is also probably #1 for me as well! The King and I was definitely enjoyable and I’ll probably give it at least one more try within the next year to see if I like it any better the second time around

        Like

      2. Sometimes musicals are the better the second time around. Sometimes I feel like you see so much more in a way. The first time you are taking in everything at once since you hardly know a musical the first time around and the second time you notice things you haven’t seen before since you are more familiar with the story, characters, and songs

        Like

      3. I understand that. When I gave Les Mis a second chance, I saw so much more. I was so uncertain going in and leaving the theatre. But yet was still interested in learning more about it, so something must have struck a chord with me without me realizing it.

        Than the second time with that movie came and I saw so much more and I no longer was able to call it too depressing. I was able to calm down and have a better experience. That was when I knew there was something special about Les Mis since I wasn’t that confused or shocked anymore about its tragic nature

        Like

      4. I agree. I would still be a fan of musicals, but not a musical fanatic. But I maybe would not discovered heartbreak, but maybe I would have, but not through Les Mis. Emotions in musicals would not be as mature and finding negative emotions would not be that easy. Than again, I could have learned some of this through another musical due to the love for Rent, another sad musical

        Like

      5. 100% agree! I might’ve still gotten to this understanding of musicals but man, it’d have taken so much longer! I think I’d still have gotten to this emotional understanding from one of my favorite musicals, Elisabeth, that also perfectly demonstrates that balance between inspiration and tragedy. But all the same, I’m still so glad to have Les Miz in my life

        Like

  2. I wonder if your confusion about the Thai culture points out one of the failures of the musical. Thai culture is very beautiful, and makes plenty of sense once you understand it, but I always felt that the musical was content to leave it as a flat stereotype.

    Like

Leave a Reply

