La La Land Review

Yesterday, I watched the movie musical, La La Land with my mom. It was such an enjoyable experience especially considering the fact that I am a massive musical fan. It was in fact a really good movie.

One thing that really stood out to me was the cinematography. The way they showed the city or the moments with the sillouthetes. As a matter of fact, all of the cinematography all impressed me.

It was such a beautiful story. It was about Mia and Sebastian and them having big dreams. It showed just how hard it is to be any kind of artist. It takes place in La and Mia is trying to be an actress and Sebastian wants to eventually own a Jazz Club. At times the two of them felt discouraged, but ultimately never gave up. It also had very lovely songs and one of the biggest things I want in a musical is to like the songs. One song in particular was special, which was “The Audition”, but also really liked the title song, “City of Stars”.

I think this movie opened up perfectly with everyone dancing on a LA highway at the time when traffic wasn’t even moving. Seeing the dancing in that moment was incredible and gave you a hint of what it is come. This movie is filled with so many wonderful dance momenst. Dance is such an unique part of musicals. What was fascinating about this movie is that it reminded you of the Golden Age of movies since some scenes were very similar to some of those musicals.

So it was such a beautiful movie with incredible acting by those who played Mia and Sebastian. The cinematography was beautiful and so was the story. Having the dance in it really added to experience. Even the songs were wonderful to listen to.

What are your thoughts on this movie?

 

 

Author: mphadventuregirl

I am a strong spiritual person who is a big fan of musicals. This blog deals with spirituality and musicals. I am finding that by writing about these, I am realizing I know more about each of them then I think I do. I hope you find my blog inspiring!

16 thoughts on “La La Land Review”

    1. I suggest you eventually see it. Before yesterday, people at my school didn’t understand why I had never seen the show. The thing is no one has asked me to see it so I never got the chance. And now because I am on Spring Break, my mom was able to take me

      Like

      1. That’s awesome! People still can’t believe I haven’t seen it yet. I found it funny that they thought that I, as a musical fan, would have been completely psyched for this movie, camping outside the theatre for the premiere or something! Hopefully I’ll get to see it sometime after next week!

        Like

      2. I still am getting annoyed when people are surprised that I am just not interested in seeing Hamilton or even listening to it due to me being a musical. Even my musical loving mom is quite surprised. It drives me nuts when people think that I as a massive musical fan needs to see that musical because everyone thinks that all big musical fans should at least give it a chance

        Like

      3. Yeah. There’s this one girl in my history class who loves Hamilton. She based her big history project on the play, etc. which is all very well and good. But when she asked if I planned to see Hamilton when it comes into town and I said “no”, she was so shocked that I almost thought I said something wrong! It’s almost as if saying one isn’t a big fan of Hamilton, it’s musical theatre heresy or something.

        Like

      4. Definitely. I just really don’t care to see Hamilton so, why on earth would I spend my money to go see it? I’m mostly saving up for good seats for Les Miz, and maybe some tickets to Aladdin and Phantom, but that’s about it. I don’t think that Lion King is coming to Seattle, unfortunately!

        Like

Leave a Reply

