Be Yourself

Overcome the notion that you must be regular. It robs of your chance to be extraordinary

-Unknown

This quote is so true. What exactly is “normal”? Everyone has their own normal. Why does society think you should be “normal”. “Normal” just sounds like everyone should be exactly the same without any faults. But no one is 100% perfect. We need to stop pretending to be someone we’re not and just be ourselves. If we believe we should be “normal”, that is not the right way of thinking. We need to embrace who we are and not who society wants us to be. If we think we should be “normal”, than you are not using your gifts. “Normal” is so overrated and in order to be extraordinary, just be yourself. Fitting in is like feeling like everyone should be exactly the same, but if everyone was the same, than the world would be quite boring.

Author: mphadventuregirl

I am a strong spiritual person who is a big fan of musicals. This blog deals with spirituality and musicals. I am finding that by writing about these, I am realizing I know more about each of them then I think I do. I hope you find my blog inspiring!

19 thoughts on “Be Yourself”

  1. This reminds me of a quote: “You gotta be original because if you’re like someone else, what do they need you for?”
    Really, really great post–I think it’s something that a lot of people say all of the time but something that can be easier to say than to put into practice

    Like

      1. What doesn’t make sense is why do people pretend to be someone their not? Why do just so many people struggle to stay true to themselves? Staying true to myself is just so natural and easy for me. I love me for who I am and will never pretend to be someone I am not

        Like

      2. Yeah, I get what you’re saying. I think that a lot of people think that if they don’t try to conform, people will judge them and dislike them. But I always am confused as to why people would even want to be friends with people who dislike who they really are

        Like

      3. Yep! On Thursday, actually, one of my classmates looked at my theatre-themed folder and said “Why do you like theatre? That’s so dorky.” I’ve also always been the type to enjoy essays and book reports and people have always thought that that was kind of weird, but ultimately, it’s who I am and I shouldn’t let what they think influence me

        Like

      4. I am a musical fanatic and when I confess that one of my favorite musicals is Rent and they look at me like I’m crazy or something. My love for musicals is one of the most unique things about me

        Like

      5. Yesterday, that same friend who called me a fake music fan told me that I was a fake musical fan because I don’t appreciate all musical character. He told me that musicals are only part of an entertainment.

        Well, he isn’t that into musicals. I understand musicals better than he does. Musicals are an entertainment in themselves.

        Like

      6. Other types of music are basically just lyrics and their emotion and true they are still telling a story.

        But in musicals, because they actually are a piece of literature, they have to tell an entire story. The songs together become a storyline filled with characters and the character’s emotions.

        Like

      7. The big advantage of musicals over other types of music is that I feel like it is so much easier to understand what a song is about and even the emotion. You are watching the song performed in front of you.

        Like

      8. Yep! It’s pretty drop-dead amazing! I can just be sitting in my room, listening to a CD and be able to essentially see the story playing out! It’s even more amazing when there’s the opportunity to see a favorite musical live! Lots of people like to see concerts but for musical fans, going to see a musical live is the equivalent of seeing a concert–except, in my opinion, better!

        Like

      9. There is nothing like the power of live theatre since you are actually seeing the characters like in front of you. I am not a big fan of going to concert and seeing a musical live is 10x better

        Like

Leave a Reply

