Why I Love Simple Musicals

Since yesterday’s post was about the complex musicals, I decided to dedicate this blog post to the simple musicals. As much as I tend to prefer the complex musicals over the simple musicals, I still am able to love the simple musicals.

These are the ones that most likely are going to just be a collection of positive emotions. But some simple musicals do have the negative emotions and can be felt truthfully. These are the shows that are easier to get to know and have one main storyline. Sometimes a simple musical eventually becomes a complex musical. Due to the negative emotions not being in every single musical, it makes perfect sense why the positive emotions are much stronger. I am not saying that the negative emotions are less important or not that capable or that they they are unimportant.

My favorite simple musical is Annie. That was my favorite musical in elementary school. I think I loved Annie so much due to Annie’s spirit and optimism and of course, Sandy. While Sound of Music gained a new complexity two years with sad sneaking into Edelweiss midway through and song and in that moment, it reduced me to tears, I still see Sound of Music as a simple musical.

Another simple musical is Music Man and it is one of my favorite due to how happy it is. The same applies to Singing in the Rain and I love the fun of that musical. I find Cats to be a simple musical despite Memory being a heartbreaking song and I feel like Grizabella might be a complex character, but it is simple because I feel like the plot isn’t really that complex at all.

To me, the simple musicals are just as important as the complex musicals.  I feel like in the musical world, there needs to be a nice variety and balance among them all. That is why some musicals are not in need of the negative emotions and are not meant to be easy to find. I love the simple musicals for very different reasons than the reasons why I love the complex musicals.

What are some of your favorite simple musicals?

Author: mphadventuregirl

I am a strong spiritual person who is a big fan of musicals. This blog deals with spirituality and musicals. I am finding that by writing about these, I am realizing I know more about each of them then I think I do. I hope you find my blog inspiring!

15 thoughts on “Why I Love Simple Musicals”

    1. I want to say that My Fair Lady is a simple musical, so I do agree.

      Music Man was the first of four musicals I saw in 2015. For me, if I love the songs, I tend to love the musical. The other three musicals were Pippin, Sound of Music, and Les Mis. Starting with Music Man was quite special since it was the most light-hearted out of all of them

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Yep! There’s definitely a place where the emotional side of musicals start to manifest, starting with traces of deeper emotion in simpler musicals, eventually making its way to the highest peak of the emotional scale with musicals like Les Miz

        Like

Leave a Reply

