Why I Prefer Complex Musicals

I feel like in musicals the best musicals almost always tend to be the complex. The complex musicals are the ones that are the hardest to get to know. But why do I prefer the complex musicals?

In my opinion, the complex musicals are more well-rounded. They have a bigger amount of conflict and feel more real. They are the ones you must likely tend to have a lot of questions about. They also tend to have the more real plot lines and characters. I realized I preferred the complex musicals growing up. Sometimes it can take time to know if a musical is complex or not.

s9-zachary-sayle-crutchie-and-joey-barreiro-jack-kelly-adisney-photo-by-shane-gutierrez

Some examples of complex musicals are Les Mis, Wicked, Phantom of the Opera, Newsies, South Pacific, and Beauty and the Beast. The complex musicals are the ones that most likely tend to have some sad song in the mix. I am not talking about any song that has sad in it. I am talking about the songs that are entirely sad like “On My Own”, “I’m Not That Girl”, “Santa Fe” from Newsies and “This Nearly Was Mine”. That is due to how much conflict is involved. Some of my favorite complex characters are Elphaba, Glinda, Fiyero, Eponine and Jean Valjean.

unknown

Complex musicals are the ones that most likely are going to change over time. They are the ones where the emotions tend to grow the most. They are the ones you must likely are gong to keep on discovering new things about the characters.

all-i-ask-of-you

As a matter of fact, they tend to have multiples storylines. Like in Les Mis, it has the main storyline of Jean Valjean and his quest for redemption with Javert trying to recapture Valjean, the tragic tale of Fantine,  the youthful love triangle between Marius, Cosette, and Eponine, and the student uprising. In Wicked, which is less complex than Les Mis, has the main overall storyline of the friendship between Elphaba and Glinda, and on top of that, which is related to the friendship between Elphaba and Glinda is the very complex and ironic love triangle between Glinda, Fiyero, and Elphaba and the plan of the Wizard making people believe that Elphaba is wicked.

Describing the complex musicals can be really challenging. Because the complex musicals are more likely to have the positive and negative emotions in their songs, they feel like the strongest of musicals and the most real. Les Mis for instance is a very strong musical and a very human story of hope, compassion, love, forgiveness, humanity, sacrifice, and redemption. That musical in my opinion is the most powerful and most inspirational. In the complex musicals, they feel more real and do find it easier to emotionally connect to the characters.

Author: mphadventuregirl

I am a strong spiritual person who is a big fan of musicals. This blog deals with spirituality and musicals. I am finding that by writing about these, I am realizing I know more about each of them then I think I do. I hope you find my blog inspiring!

14 thoughts on “Why I Prefer Complex Musicals”

    1. I also love simple musicals. My favorite musical in elementary school was Annie and that plot is very simple. I even consider Sound of Music simple even though there was a slight emotion shift through Edelweiss two years ago

      Like

      1. Yeah. Previously, until I revisitef CATS, I’d thought of it as a pretty simple musical but it’s actually quite a bit more complicated and complex than meets the eye! I think that most musicals are that way with varying levels of complexity!

        Like

      2. Yeah, that makes sense. Prior to rewatching it last week, I didn’t remember most of it. But as I did, and when I started doing some research, I found out that a lot of people actually view CATS as a sort of allegorical or metaphorical story.

        Like

      3. I eventually was able to watch again when I saw the film of the stage show. Now that I think of it, Grizzabella is my favorite cat due to loving Memory. So I guess because I always loved that song, there must have some recollection of seeing the show in a way

        Like

      4. CATS is definitely one of those stories that is not plot-oriented but rather character-driven. One of the things I love about CATS is that you really get to know the characters and you can kind of create your own stories surrounding them.

        Like

Leave a Reply

