The Nature of the Happiest of Musicals

In today’s post, I will be talking about the happiest of musicals. Even though the best musicals tend to have those negative emotions in the songs, I don’t want all musicals to have those emotions. Some of my favorite musicals are just a collection of positive emotions. Musicals like Singing in the Rain, Mamma Mia and Music Man fit under this category. I love all three of them due to how happy they are.

This does sound a bit misleading because other musicals I love are partly due to the fact that the positive and negative emotions do exist. But the musicals I Just listed are still incredible musicals. I love the songs of all three of those musicals and even love the plots of them as well. You need a nice balance spread throughout all musicals, which is why you need musicals like Mamma Mia, Music Man, and Singing in the Rain in the mix. Those plots just don’t have the need to have those negative emotions. Just by bringing them up, it really shows in a way the wide range that musicals have when it comes to the emotions.

The negative emotions start to exist in happy musicals when the right amount of conflict and complexity enters the plot and the characters. That is when they are necessary, but all three of those musical’s plots don’t have enough complexity or conflict to fit the negative emotions in the plot. The only emotions that all musicals have in common are positive emotions. If the negative emotions were in every single musical,  they would become too overwhelming and everything would be completely off balance.

So I can love musicals that have just positive emotions. I associate musicals with the happy musicals/comedies because most of the musicals I have seen in any sort of way or heard of fit under that category.

Author: mphadventuregirl

I am a strong spiritual person who is a big fan of musicals. This blog deals with spirituality and musicals. I am finding that by writing about these, I am realizing I know more about each of them then I think I do. I hope you find my blog inspiring!

3 thoughts on “The Nature of the Happiest of Musicals”

Leave a Reply

