Importance of the Orchestra in a Musical

Before I start this post, I want to say that this blog has reached 150 followers and my goal is to get 500 by the end of the year.

The orchestra is something I have not actually described on this blog yet. The orchestra in my opinion almost seems like a character in a musical. The orchestra actually opens up a musical, which is why the first emotion that I feel is excitement and joy. The opening of a musical is always an overture of sorts. The orchestra gets you all pumped up and ready to feel all the different emotions. The orchestra is one of the biggest reasons why feeling the positive and negative emotions are worth it.

The orchestra is the main driving force of a musical because when the orchestra starts playing, you get excited about listening to another musical number. The melody in a musical is just as important as the lyrics.

I love hearing the orchestra play while an actor is singing because the singing voice and the orchestra are a wonderful mix. Even the melody of a song can explain a lot about the actual emotion of a song. If a song is slow, it tends to be either a sad or heartbreaking or even a love song. If the orchestra starts out slow and than speeds up, the song tends to be an exciting number.

Describing the importance of the orchestra is quite tricky. But the orchestra is just as important as the story, characters, and the songs. The songs are driven through the orchestra.

Author: mphadventuregirl

I am a strong spiritual person who is a big fan of musicals. This blog deals with spirituality and musicals. I am finding that by writing about these, I am realizing I know more about each of them then I think I do. I hope you find my blog inspiring!

5 thoughts on “Importance of the Orchestra in a Musical”

    1. The orchestra is where the songs come into play. The orchestra is just as important as a musical’s story and characters. Without the orchestra, there really is no music. Without the orchestra, there would be less joy in a musical experience

      Like

      1. The melody helps drive the character’s emotions in a way, but it really is the lyrics that tells the audience what the emotion is. Due to the orchestra, there is joy in every single musical emotion

        Like

Leave a Reply

