Disney Musicals

Disney musicals are a very important part of my life. I grew up with some of the most famous Disney musicals ever. I grew up with musicals like “Beauty and the Beast”, “Aladdin”, and “Lion King”. I also grew up with Disney musicals that are not stage musicals. In middle school, I fell in love with Enchanted, which is my favorite Disney movie. There was a time when I actually sort of forgot how much I loved “Lion King”, “Beauty and the Beast” and “Aladdin”, which made me sort of forget some very important plot points of each and some of their emotions.

The only songs I remembered from those three shows are “A Whole New World”, “Beauty and the Beast” and “Can You Feel the Love Tonight”. I basically forget that some of these had negative emotions found within their songs. Its crazy because by the end of high school, I knew sad was common in musicals, but basically forget which shows that emotion happened to be in, but never forgot it was in Wicked.

Even in the college years, I have fallen in love with newer Disney musicals. I did watch the movies of both “Tangled” and “Frozen”. My dorm room has a bit of a Frozen theme in it. It has a Frozen pillow and a stuffed Olaf and Sven. Recently, I fell in love with the stage version of “Newsies” because it has mind-blowing dance, an incredible score, and memorable characters. I feel like I need to eventually revisit some of the Disney musicals sI grew up with and relearn them and watch them fresh and that is why I hope to see “Lion King” and “Beauty and the Beast” live again someday.

The Disney musicals are a big reason why most musicals are happy to begin with. If you actually count the non-stage musicals, it makes the happy musicals increase even faster. I may have lost some touch with some of the Disney musicals growing up, but I am so glad I want to revisit them. When I went to Disney World last year with my school for a leadership experience, my love for Disney strengthen. Outside of the leadership classes, we were let loose and allowed to explore the parks without a chaperone. Due to having character meals everyday and experiencing the magic of Disney again, I found more love for Disney. Because of the two leadership classes where we learned more about Disney and went behind the scenes, it made me love Disney more.

Author: mphadventuregirl

I am a strong spiritual person who is a big fan of musicals. This blog deals with spirituality and musicals. I am finding that by writing about these, I am realizing I know more about each of them then I think I do. I hope you find my blog inspiring!

10 thoughts on “Disney Musicals”

  1. Funnily enough, I was just watching some clips from Tangled just now!
    People always think that I’m weirdly obsessed with Disney for my age but I always tell ’em that there’s no age limit for Disney! But to be honest, I watched Disney movies for a long while growing up because my youngest sibling is nearly six years older than me so they were the only movies I knew for years! I still love watching Disney movies as they come out though!

    Like

    1. Same, I still love watching Disney musicals. The magic is still in Disney even though others think that that the real magic of Disney is only in the old classics of Disney like “Aladdin” and “Beauty and the Beast”. But even in new Disney, the magic hasn’t yet disappeared. Because I just wrote this post, I can’t help but listen to Disney songs right now. I feel like I need to own more Disney soundtracks, but will not that until I revisit them in the theatre when I get the chance

      Like

      1. I definitely don’t think the magic in Disney has died! I think it’s changed, definitely, but the times have changed as well! For the most part, I actually quite like the path Disney seems to be trotting down at the moment!
        I also need more Disney soundtracks on my shelf! At the moment, I’ve only got Beauty and the Beast sitting there!

        Like

      2. I do have the original Broadway soundtrack of Newsies and do own the songs to Enchanted and have four of the Frozen songs. But I feel like I need to own Beauty and the Beast and Lion King, but not going to buy the soundtrack yet.

        Like

      3. There is one song I want to own from Newsies, which is not on the soundtrack. This is the original Broadway soundtrack, which doesn’t have Crutchie’ solo from the touring production, “Letter From the Refuge”. Hopefully there will be in the future someway to actually own that song

        Like

      4. Huh, that’s interesting! Maybe one day, a recording will have it! Each of my Les Miz CDs has something that the other CDs left out so it’s entirely possible that if they ever make another CD for Newsies, it’ll have that song on it!

        Like

      5. My favorite characters in Newsies are Jack and Crutchie. Their relationship is where my emotional connection truly comes from, which is clearly shown through the prologue. That emotional connection led to the relationship between all the Newsies. Jack’s relationship to Cruthie explains why after Crutchie was taken away to the Refuge, Jack experienced a lot of inner conflict throughout act 2

        Like

      6. Definitely! One of my favorite things to see in musicals is strong friendship! Crutchie was one of my favorite characters and definitely one of the characters who I saw as a character who advanced the plot a great deal

        Like

Leave a Reply

