Rodgers and Hammerstein Musicals

What can go wrong with Rodgers and Hammerstein? This composer and lyricist team is one of the most famous musical duos of the Golden Age of musicals. They are well known for musicals like Sound of Music, South Pacific, Oklahoma, Cinderella, and King and I. Their musicals seem to always seem to have two love stories found within their musicals. Their musical, Oklahoma, is considered to be the first musical comedy. I don’t think anything can go wrong with their musicals.

Of all the Rodgers and Hammerstein musicals, Sound of Music has been part of my life the longest and is also my favorite Rodgers and Hammerstein musical. It has well known songs like “Do-Re-Mi”, “My Favorite Things”, “Sixteen Going On Seventeen”, and “Edelweiss”. It follows the story of Maria, a nun who becomes governess to Captain Von Trapp’s seven children. The Captain runs his household very strictly and eventually Maria and the Captain fall in love. This is all taking place during World War II when the Nazis are taking over Austria. I remember Edelweiss being my first piano recital song. It has become one of the most meaningful musicals of my life.

Than of course, there is South Pacific, the love story between Emelie and Nellie. It has well known songs like “Some Enchanted Evening”, “Younger Than Springtime”, “There is Nothing Like a Dame”, and “This Nearly Was Mine”. The other love story happens between Joe Cable and Liat. Both love stories have a serious side to them, but it is the story of Joe Cable and Liat that ends up being tragic in the end. With Nellie and Emelie, the couple starts up together, than they break up, and end up together again at the end. This in my opinion is the second best Rodgers and Hammerstein musical. I first saw South Pacific in 2014 when the movie was leant to my family by a church friend when school was cancelled for four days thanks to snow.

There are the other famous musicals, “Oklahoma”, “King and I”, and “Cinderella”. I saw the movie of both Oklahoma and Cinderella in the college year. Those musicals have well-known songs like “Oklahoma”, “Oh, What a Beautiful Morning”, “In My Own Little Corner”, “Getting to Know You”, and “Shall We Dance”. Its no surprise that Rodgers and Hammerstein is so well known. They just have these wonderful musicals with incredible plots and incredible songs. Nothing can go wrong with any of their musicals in my opinion.

 

Author: mphadventuregirl

I am a strong spiritual person who is a big fan of musicals. This blog deals with spirituality and musicals. I am finding that by writing about these, I am realizing I know more about each of them then I think I do. I hope you find my blog inspiring!

11 thoughts on “Rodgers and Hammerstein Musicals”

      1. My favorite Rogers and Hammerstein musical is Cinderella–I used to watch the Disney movie version that had Whitney Houston and Bernadette Peters in it with my grandpa all the time when I was younger.
        The Sound of Music is also really special to me because it’s just full of emotion and songs that I love so much. It’s had such a large impact on my life

        Like

      2. Even if I don’t end up going to King and I, my parents did give me the ultimate Broadway gift for Christmas. They gave me a ticket to see Rent, a musical I wanted to see live since Fall of 2012 and my dad promised that next time it comes around that I will get to see it. It is in September and I have no problem with leaving Boiling Spring (where my school is) for just one weekend just to see this meaningful musical

        Like

      3. I am sure it will. It felt like I will never get to see it live. Love the whole message that Rent spreads and I can emphasize with the characters. I know it will be an incredible experience.

        Like

      4. Definitely! I’ll have to catch it next time it’s in Seattle–I’ve been dying to see it live for years now and now I could walk to the theatre it’s going to be playing at but it’ll have to wait for another day! ’tis life, I guess! I’ll bet that it’ll be an awesome show!

        Like

Leave a Reply

