Memorable Older Musical Characters

The older characters in musicals are in my opinion are those in their 30s and up. When I wrote a list of memorable younger musical characters, it was so much easier to think of characters. Much of the characters I love are young, but there are incredible older characters as well. But it feels like most of the older characters are villains and antagonists and those are the kind of characters I typically never end up liking.

  1. Jean Valjean-best older character: Les Mis
  2. Javert-Les Mis
  3. Thenardiers- Les Mis
  4. Harold Hill- Music Man
  5. Marian- Music Man
  6. Leading Player- Pippin
  7. Miss Hannigin- Annie
  8. Miguel De Cervantes/ Don Quixote- Man of La Mancha
  9. Emelie- South Pacific
  10. Nellie- South Pacific
  11. Grizabella- Cats

I wish I could have included more older characters. These are the only memorable older characters I can think of at this moment.

Author: mphadventuregirl

I am a strong spiritual person who is a big fan of musicals. This blog deals with spirituality and musicals. I am finding that by writing about these, I am realizing I know more about each of them then I think I do. I hope you find my blog inspiring!

18 thoughts on “Memorable Older Musical Characters”

  1. Really great list! For the most part, I think that I tend to like the older characters a little less than younger ones maybe because I can relate to younger characters better. However, I still really love the older characters in musicals and I think that the ones you listed here were really great!

    Like

    1. It seems that much of the older characters are villains and antagonists and those are the characters I never seem to love, but can be fascinated by them and can feel something for them. I feel like there are more younger characters than older characters.

      Like

      1. I have always been fond of the younger characters. They have been part of my life since elementary school.

        For some odd reason, I feel like the first older character I feel in love with was Jean Valjean. He just has this incredible journey of being this hateful man and becoming a compassionate and saint-like man. He is defiantly one of the most complex and one of the best literary protagonists ever

        Like

      2. I would agree. Literary protagonists all have some sort of journey they undertake but I think that Jean Valjean’s spiritual and emotional journey is definitely one of the best I’ve ever seen a literary character undertake

        Like

      3. I had an understudy as Valjean when I saw the show in the West End. He was brilliant as Valjean and I truly saw Valjean’s transformation. Valjean shows that someone can raise above their upbringing. His journey shows that all it can take is one character to make a enormous impact on your life. If it wasn’t for the bishop, Valjean wouldn’t have been able to become the person he became.

        Loved that he helped save Fantine (even though he couldn’t save her life), Cosette, and even Marius and turned himself in when someone was falsely accused of being him. Valjean puts others needs before his own.

        He had to become father to Cosette in the most unexpected of ways. Their dynamic is close. When both first met, they were both broken and they helped heal each other.

        Like

      4. I love how Valjean’s journey ends. His redemption is so strong and inspires you at the end. Love that he was able to die alongside both Cosette and Marius. Valjean lived through the example set by the bishop for his entire journey. Even love that he learned to forgive Javert and that shows the importance of forgiving your enemies

        Like

Leave a Reply

