The Strongest Form of Love in a Musical

Today is Valentine’s Day, so I decided to post something dealing with love from a musical. While it is well known that romance is the biggest theme in all of musicals, I still don’t think it is the strongest form of love. Yes, romance is practically in almost every single musical and happens mainly to younger characters. The strongest love in my opinion is the love you have for a musical.

The love you have for a musical is highly important. Falling in love with a musical makes everything about the experience worth it. Sometimes I have fallen in love with musical starting from the very beginning. In a lot of ways, you become a character in the musical yourself. The love you have for a musical is how the emotional bond is created. The emotional bond needs to happen long before the first act ends. The last musical I saw live that became meaningful was Newsies. I remember when the first scene happened which was the “Santa Fe (Prologue)” scene and my emotional bond started there because I just was emotionally bonded to the intimate relationship between Jack and Crutchie. That relationship was essential for my entire experience.

What about the negative emotions? The negative do hurt in a musical and exist in varying degrees, layers, and strengths. There are different levels of fragility, innocence, and vulnerability found in those emotions. Something has to cause you to appreciate feeling those emotions. It all comes down to how emotionally bonded you are to the actual material especially the songs. It all comes down to whether or not the musical becomes meaningful. I feel like if you fall in love with the songs in a musical, you find yourself falling in love with the emotions.

But for the actual plot of a musical, the most well-known form of love is romance itself. I am never surprised if that concept of love exists in a new musical. Some of my favorite couples are Elphaba and Fiyero, Jack and Katherine, Mimi and Roger, and Belle and the Beast. I just feel like the love you have for a musical is so much stronger than romance itself.

Below is a blog post of memorable musical couples:

https://megsdailymusings.wordpress.com/2017/01/31/memorable-couples-of-musicals/

Author: mphadventuregirl

I am a strong spiritual person who is a big fan of musicals. This blog deals with spirituality and musicals. I am finding that by writing about these, I am realizing I know more about each of them then I think I do. I hope you find my blog inspiring!

15 thoughts on “The Strongest Form of Love in a Musical”

      1. Hey ! So not a lot of people actually enjoy musicals, at least not in my group so I really liked the way you talk about when you watch one you almost become a part of it. A character! 🙂

        Like

    1. I am aware there are several different types of love portrayed in musicals: love for a country, love for the law, love for a parent, love for a child, romance (unrequited/requited) and than the love you have for a musical is added on top of all of that.

      Like

      1. That is a big unique thing about that musical. These two very different girls at one point strongly hated each other, but through a school dance, they bonded together. The fact that this story centers friendship will be a story that will always resonate with others

        Like

Leave a Reply

