Memorable Musical Relationships That Are Not Romantic Part 2

Just two days ago, I blogged about memorable musical relationships that are not romantic. Just yesterday I realized I left an important relationship out of the list. I forgot to mention the relationship among the characters in Rent.

The characters in Rent are Maureen, Joanne, Mimi, Roger, Collins, Angel, Mark and Benny. The show mainly revolves around the first seven on this list. These characters are quite wide-ranging and a lot of them are artists. Mimi, Roger, Collins, and Angel all have HIV. Some of these characters are in the LGBT community. Rent is mainly about these character lives in the span of a year. You have filmmaker and narrator Mark, musician Roger, dancer and drug addict Mimi, performance artist Maureen, professor Collins and lawyer Joanne. These characters measure their lives in love and live in the moment. Considering the fact that some have HIV, that one is a drug addict, and that some are part of the LGBT community, I feel like Rent teaches you the value of acceptance.

maxresdefault

These characters are memorable because their relationship is close. They show you just how precious life is. Considering the fact that four of them have HIV, they make the most of every moment. Benny throughout most of the show treats them unfairly, but by the end of it, he realizes just how important friendship is. He is essentially part of this group of friends. He was once living with Mark, Roger, and Collins. Out of all these characters, my favorites are Mimi and Roger.

Craft

Author: mphadventuregirl

I am a strong spiritual person who is a big fan of musicals. This blog deals with spirituality and musicals. I am finding that by writing about these, I am realizing I know more about each of them then I think I do. I hope you find my blog inspiring!

15 thoughts on “Memorable Musical Relationships That Are Not Romantic Part 2”

      1. It is hard to love Rent at times due to the controversial subject matter. When I confess I love Rent and after I mention those subjects, some people are completely puzzled about me loving it.

        This sounds crazy, but I think the musicals that are meaningful actually represent who you are as a person

        Like

      2. The message of Rent is why it is meaningful. The message of acceptance, living in moment, and measuring your life in love is so universal. I can understand why some people just won’t love Rent.

        Like

      3. I first fell in love with Rent in Fall of 2012. The songs showed up on Pandora and I instantly fell in love with them. That was before actually knowing the plot or knowing who the characters are

        Like

      4. Before I saw it, I listened to “Seize the Day”, “Carrying the Banner”, “King of New York”, and “The World Will Know”. After discovering it has Tony Award winning Choreography and that it is based off of a true story, I knew that I wanted to see it.

        I have loved it since August. The dancing was unbelievable, the characters memorable, and the plot incredible. It is actually the only cast that is basically all boys

        Like

      5. “Seize the Day” is the best song from the musical in my opinion. My favorite Newsies are Jack and Crutchie. From the stage show, there is this added main female character named Katherine, who becomes the reporter of the strike and Jack’s love interest

        Like

Leave a Reply

