Memorable Musical Relationships That Are Not Romantic

When people tend to think of a musical relationship, they tend to think of the romance. But what about all the other special relationships. Listed below is a list of some of the memorable musical relationships that are not romantic.

  1. Elphaba and Glinda-Wicked
  2. Newsies- Newsies
  3. Jack and Crutchie- Newsies
  4. Enjolras, Marius, Gavroche and the students- Les Mis
  5. Valjean and Cosette-Les Mis

unknown

unknown

s9-zachary-sayle-crutchie-and-joey-barreiro-jack-kelly-adisney-photo-by-shane-gutierrez

tumblr_mg1is1kwwr1qkk5w8o1_500

unknown-2

All of these relationships help develop the storyline. They show that relationships don’t always need to be romantic. The story in Wicked is revolved around the friendship that Elphaba and Glinda have for each other and it starts out with them as extremely reluctant roommates and they eventually become the best of friends.

Newsies has two special relationships in my opinion. There is the relationship among all the Newsies and it is special because they are basically one big family with Jack the leader of them all. Many of the Newsies are homeless, orphans, or runaways. However the most intimate relationship in Newsies is the one between Jack and Crutchie. Cruthcie has a bum leg and Jack has such a special relationship to Crutchie and is worried that Crutchie will be sent to the refuge. Crutchie is basically Jack’s best friend and Jack feels protective of Crutchie knowing just how vulnerable Crutchie is.

In Les Mis, there are two highly important non-romantic relationships. The first is the one between Valjean and Cosette. Out of unexpected circumstances, Valjean has to care for Cosette after her mother dies. Both Valjean and Cosette are broken on the inside and they basically help heal each other. Valjean faced a lot of trauma in prison and Cosette faced a lot of horrible abuse from the Thenardiers. As a matter of fact, Cosette was first person Valjean learned to love after being released from prison.

The second Les Mis non-romantic relationship that is important is the one between all the different students. Like the Newsies, the students in Les Mis have a brotherly love for each other. They are this political group who stand up for what they believe in due to the weak government and they decide to plan an uprising. The leader of them all is Enjolras, who is the most passionate about this group. They basically take in Gavroche, a heroic and brave street urchin, and they treat him like he is part of the group and allow him to take part in the uprising.

Author: mphadventuregirl

I am a strong spiritual person who is a big fan of musicals. This blog deals with spirituality and musicals. I am finding that by writing about these, I am realizing I know more about each of them then I think I do. I hope you find my blog inspiring!

24 thoughts on “Memorable Musical Relationships That Are Not Romantic”

      1. Yeah, that makes sense! I think that with Wicked, the friendship between Elphaba and Galinda is actually more important than the romance between Elphaba and Fiyero. In Wicked, I feel like romance is a little more of a subplot

        Like

      2. I do agree that Wicked is mainly about Elphaba and Glinda. But I still think that Elphaba and Fiyero is still quite important. You have these two best friends falling in love with the same man, which causes conflict in their relationship. But I do agree that Fiyero and Elphaba is less important than Elphaba and Glinda

        Like

      3. You got two incredible women as protagonists and you don’t see that often. A friendship between two very different girls. They hated each other at first and eventually became the best of friends even when their friendship has conflict of times.

        The relationship between Elphaba and Glinda is a big reason why Wicked stands out among many musicals

        Like

      4. Back when I was 12, “Popular” was my favorite song from the musical. The fourth time I saw Wicked, my Glinda was extremely funny. I had such a perfect Elphaba and Glinda that time around. They delivered “For Good” perfectly, which reduced me to tears

        Like

      5. I feel like that happens with me too. The sixth time I saw Beauty and the Beast, I just bawled throughout the whole show. I think that it may have had something to do with how attached I had become to the characters and the show or maybe it was just that the actors just really knew how to hit the “Make-Celeste-Cry” Button. But it was a truly amazing experience

        Like

      6. Coming into Wicked the fourth time around I came in knowing “I’m Not That Girl” was a heartbreaker, not the sad song it was the other three times. Than I found an appreciation for “No Good Deed”, a song I always hated. In addition, my relationship to Elphaba grew over all of those years

        Like

      7. Now that is an unique thing about musicals. For the longest time ever, heartbreak wasn’t even a option for songs in the world of musical. Listening to “I’m Not That Girl” hurts more than ever due to that realization.

        Like

      8. Yeah, I agree! Talking about Wicked has made me want to put in my Wicked CD. Unfortunately, it’s 7:30 in the morning and my younger brother would probably not appreciate it. I think that Wicked is amazing because it has this glamour–I might even say façade but that’s not quite the right word–that shows it to be a happy musical but really there are so many emotions tucked inside of it that it’s not JUST a happy musical. It’s so many different things as well

        Like

      9. Wicked has always been a musical comedy in the eyes. It is my favorite happy musical for so many reasons. That is due to my relationship with Elphaba, who has become kind of like a role model to me. Everything about this show feels Ozian to me. There is so much to Wicked and oh so many layers and so much complexity. It has just incredible spectacle and what a wonderful set with the dragon and the curtain of the map of OZ. It will hard for another happy musical to be just as good as Wicked

        Like

  1. Elphaba and Glinda’s relationship/friendship is definitely one of the most beautiful ones in musical theater. I love how close they were, and depending on the way you look at it, romance is more of a subplot in this musical than in others.

    However, have you read the book? It’s really good–it’s wayyy different compared to the musical but it brings out a lot more depth and background to the characters. And in the book, there is hinting that Glinda and Elphaba may actually be romantically interested in each other, which is also pretty amazing and it’s quite interesting to see some of the musical actresses hinting at it in the musical too! 🙂

    Like

      1. I didn’ t like the book either when I read it at 13, because too much of it went over my head. I think it’s hard to enjoy it when you’re trying to keep the musical storyline in your head at the same time; that was my mistake. I had to just ignore the musical plot when I read it, and the language can be quite complicated and hard to understand at time but I still really like it.

        Yeah, there’ve been musicals like Phantom and Les Mis that I listened to when I was like 13, and now that I’m almost 17, when I go back to listen to them I see a lot more than I understood back then. And I love that feeling, you get the nostalgia mixed with revelations and it’s just amazing.

        Like

      2. I read the book in high school. I had the musical plot in my head too. Whenever I see Wicked, I want to make sure I am still able to keep that 12 year old girl alive in that show. Wicked has deepened a lot over the years when it comes to emotions and level of vulnerability. My relationship to Elphaba has become more and more special over the years. I relate to Elphaba so much and is a big reason why I love Wicked at the level that I do.

        In the case of both Les Mis and Wicked, they are my top two favorite musicals and I am constantly asked which is better. I have no answer for that due to them being drastically different from each other

        Like

Leave a Reply

