Memorable Couples of Musicals

Romance in a musical is the biggest theme ever. Below is a list of memorable musical couples that I have come across yet. Romance in my opinion translates well to song. The love songs are some of the most beautiful musical songs. Some have innonence built into them and some have a more mature melody. I will identify which musical couple is my favorite.

  1. Elphaba and Fiyero- favorite (Wicked)
  2. Jack and Katherine- Newsies
  3. Belle and Beast- Beauty and the Beast
  4. Nala and Simba- Lion King
  5. Jasmine and Aladdin- Aladdin
  6. Nellie and Emelie- South Pacific
  7. Mimi and Roger- Rent
  8. Christine and Raoul- Phantom of the Opera
  9. Cosette and Marius- Les Mis
  10. Marian and Harold Hill- Music Man
  11. Captain Von Trapp and Maria- Sound of Music
Author: mphadventuregirl

I am a strong spiritual person who is a big fan of musicals. This blog deals with spirituality and musicals. I am finding that by writing about these, I am realizing I know more about each of them then I think I do. I hope you find my blog inspiring!

27 thoughts on “Memorable Couples of Musicals”

    1. I love how a lot of love is happening between young musical characters a lot of the time. Some people feel like romance is only part of a musical just to add time and adds nothing to the storyline. The romances here are quite varied. Some of them are part of love triangles, some are couples who start out together: break up: get back together.

      Like

      1. I agree. Some musicals do use romance as a plot device, but for the most part, they just fit seamlessly into the musical and add to it. I think it’s funny that people think it’s just filler content when, in reality, if we were to take all of the romance out of musicals, so many musicals would be dull

        Like

      2. Some musicals are actual love stories like South Pacific for instance. What would Wicked and Les Mis be without the love triangle? What would Disney musicals like Newsies, Aladdin, Beauty and the Beast, and Lion King be without the romance? Etc. No theme has been bigger than romance itself in a musical. I never seen romance as useless in a musical

        Like

      3. Yep, definitely! If anything, I think that unrequited love songs are the songs which often show the greatest levels of love. I just think that those songs demonstrate great love especially with On My Own and As Long as He Needs Me

        Like

      4. “On My Own” definitely is stronger than “I’m Not That Girl”, but both songs are still heartbreakers. Even though I know Elphaba is going to end up with Fiyero, “I’m Not That Girl” still hurts and hurts more than ever because it recently became a heartbreaker and wasn’t the same sad song it once was. If it wasn’t for “On My Own”, I may not have realized that “I’m Not That Girl” was a heartbreaker

        Like

      5. Yeah, I agree. Yesterday my dad told me that “On My Own” is his favorite Les Miz song which kinda shocked me because I always thought his favorite was “A Little Fall of Rain”. But really, “On My Own” is one of the most amazing songs ever

        Like

      6. “On My Own” is my favorite solo from Les Mis and don’t know why. “A Little Fall of Rain” has officially become my favorite duet in the musical as well. But still cannot pick my favorite song.

        Like

      7. Yeah, it’s definitely a tough pick. “Do You Hear the People Sing” will always have a special place with me because it was the first song that I really fell in love with. But I’m always having a constant struggle when it comes to picking a single favorite. At this point, I’m probably just being picky, but I think that my favorite song also kinda depends on which recording/version I’m listening to.

        Like

      8. “Do You Hear the People Sing” has been stuck in my head for a little over four years now. The first time I saw the movie, I only remembered hearing three songs, which were “Do You Hear the People Sing”, “Master of the House”, and “I Dreamed a Dream”. I already heard “I Dreamed a Dream” before due the whole Susan Boyle thing. I was in high when I first heard about Les Mis, but I didn’t know the full title or what the song was about, which is why I didn’t know Les Mis was going to be so tragic and my parents didn’t me

        Like

      9. I knew about Les Miz and its storyline because of the semester I took of French and because my dad is also a musical fanatic. But I had no idea as to the level of tragedy I would be facing in Les Miz. All I knew was that a man named Jean Valjean stole some bread and that a revolt ensued. So I was kinda shocked when I actually saw it for myself

        Like

      10. I didn’t really experience Les Mis for what it is the first time I saw the movie. But the second time, I experienced Les Mis for what it is. I knew there was something special about it. So glad that Les Mis made me the musical fanatic I am today. Before Les Mis, I loved musicals, but not at the level of a musical fanatic. Les Mis changed musicals forever because it changed how I view everything in a musical

        Like

      11. Wicked was the show which sparked my love for musicals back in 2006. Les Mis made me the fanatic I am today. Now I need to revisit some musicals of my childhood and want to see Aladdin, Beauty and the Beast, and Lion King live. Seen both Beauty and the Beast and Lion King live before, but don’t remember it. Musicals are such an unique world and capable of so much

        Like

      12. I really want to see Aladdin and Beauty and the Beast as well. I’ve seen Beauty and the Beast on stage more times than I can count but I still love it. Never seen Aladdin on stage but I definitely want to and I hope that I’ll be able to see it in Seattle later this year!

        Like

      13. I am getting kind of tired of the Hanilton hype. I have always been told I should give it a chance. But I honestly have no intention to see it because I don’t like hip-hop or rap. That type of music doesn’t seem right for a musical

        Like

      14. I have listened to a few of the songs and I was kinda “meh” about it. I think that it’s cool that it’s getting a lot of kids into history but it’s also been damaging to a lot of musicals, causing them to close sooner.

        Like

  1. I really think Juan Domingo Peron’s and Evita’s love story is amazing. Born because of power and interests develops into a song like “You Must Love Me”. Even though I played “Che” during our production of the musical it was hard to hold tears during that moment. It deserves a 12th spot it’s what I’m saying.

    Love your rank btw (you could name the Musicals they come from). Following.

    Like

Leave a Reply

