The Strength of the Positive Musical Emotions

In my personal opinion, the positive emotions in musicals are stronger than the negative emotions. I am not saying that the positive emotions are more important and am not saying that the negative emotions are not strong.

I feel like there are two sets of positive emotions. There are the positive emotions that are actually part of the show itself and than there are the positive emotions that come from the experience. In my opinion, the initial emotion you feel when a show begins is the emotions that drives the rest of the performance.

In all the musicals I love, the first emotion I have felt has always been excitement. I feel like the emotions that come from the actual experience are the strongest musical emotions. You are feeling the character’s emotions, but at the same time you are feeling your own.

The negative emotions are quite fragile and vulnerable musical emotions and hurt in the world of musicals. As a matter of fact, the positive emotions in musicals help makes those emotions worth feeling. Once you have an emotional connection, you start caring about the characters and it makes you want to feel the emotions of the story.

Another reason why I say that the positive emotions are the strongest is due to the fact that all musicals have positive emotions. There is not a single musical out there that has just negative emotions within their songs or even in the characters. There are some musicals out there that actually don’t have the negative emotions.

You need to think about your experience at the same time you feel the character’s emotions. In all the musicals I love that have negative emotions, those emotions have always been worth it no matter how little or how much the emotion is present. The emotions of excitement, love, and joy are emotions that come from the show itself and come from the actual experience. I feel like when you actually see a musical that you fall in love with, you sort of become a character.

Author: mphadventuregirl

I am a strong spiritual person who is a big fan of musicals. This blog deals with spirituality and musicals. I am finding that by writing about these, I am realizing I know more about each of them then I think I do. I hope you find my blog inspiring!

6 thoughts on “The Strength of the Positive Musical Emotions”

  1. As a kid, I was pretty oblivious to the negative emotions… I don’t really know why but I just didn’t pick up on them. Now that I’m older now, though, I see the sadness in musicals like Oliver and other musicals that I grew up thinking of as happy

    Like

    1. I don’t actually remember much about the negative emotions from before college as a matter of fact. I did know that sad was an emotion, but honestly don’t really remember it. So in a lot of ways, its like the negative have completely started over. But I never forgot sad was in Wicked.

      Like

      1. It is crazy how it would take a heartbreaking musical to truly make me fully embrace those negative emotions. Through Les Mis, discovering the negative emotions in new and old musicals would become so much easier.

        But sometimes even now, the negative emotions would stay hidden in some present musicals.

        Like

      2. Well I think that musicals are partially shaped based off of life experiences. I feel like as you get older and grow, you begin to understand musical emotions more and more because in real life, you begin to understand them better as you get older. Even today, the negative emotions don’t grow that quickly when it comes to musicals, but instead at a more steady fit. I feel like when I was younger, I don’t think the positive and the negative emotions were ever on the same plain as each other. Now they are on the exact same plain due to an unexpected shift in my musical journey.

        I started to understand the emotional side of musicals with Wicked back in 2006 and so I knew sad was an emotion. But through Les MIs, I think the musical opened me up more to the negative emotions and just made me find I want to say real value in the negative emotions. By seeing musicals through the perspective of tragedy instead of comedy, it allowed me to see a side of musical emotions that I had never seen before. I feel like musicals rely on each other and depend on each other.

        It all comes down to how you interpret a musical in a way and also comes down to how much of an emotional connection you have to a musical among other factors

        Like

Leave a Reply

