Negative Emotions of Happy Musicals

As of now, most musicals are in fact happy. It is important that they have negative emotions in them. It helps balance things out and help make a story more real and characters more well rounded. There are a few exceptions because there are musicals with a very weak plot, but yet still have a sad or heartbreaking song. It is through happy musicals where I first discovered sad. However don’t remember much of what sad was like before college. I kind of had to relearn the emotion except for one show. I never forgot that sad was in Wicked. Its just that some musicals I lost track of. However knowing that sad existed when I was younger actually helped prepare me for what was about to come.

True there are sad musicals and they play a part in developing the negative emotions, but because they are still currently so rare, the best place where tragedy can really grow is through the happy musicals. The negative emotions are quite capable in the happy musicals. Below is a list of happy musicals that I know that have negative emotions in their scores and might include the songs that have those emotions.  But for others, will not list a sad song. The reprises will not be listed, but will include the songs that have sad as a piece of a song. Some shows might be surprising on this list, but make sense.

  1. Newsies- Santa Fe
  2. Wicked- I’m Not That Girl, No Good Deed, For Good
  3. Annie- Maybe
  4. South Pacific- This Nearly Was Mine
  5. Sound of Music- Edelweiss
  6. Beauty and the Beast- If I Can’t Love Her
  7. Lion King- Endless Night
  8. Cats- Memory
  9. Fiddler on the Roof
  10. Man of La Mancha
Author: mphadventuregirl

I am a strong spiritual person who is a big fan of musicals. This blog deals with spirituality and musicals. I am finding that by writing about these, I am realizing I know more about each of them then I think I do. I hope you find my blog inspiring!

5 thoughts on “Negative Emotions of Happy Musicals”

    1. Having sad in the happy musicals is wonderful. There is nothing wrong with happy musicals having darkness or tragic elements. If they didn’t have those, a kind of balance would be lost between all musicals.

      Sad is that kind of emotion that likes to develop at a steady rate.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Yes, that’s very true. And as much as a happy story is wonderful, if the whole plot was happy, there would be no plot and the story would be quite bland so that it is important to have negative emotions even within the happiest of stories

        Like

      2. There are some happy musicals that actually have a plot and don’t have sad in their songs. Those are musicals like Music Man and Singing in the Rain, but they do help balance things out.

        It is amazing what sad is capable of in the happy musicals alone even though the emotion does have some limitations

        Like

      3. That’s true. I think that with The Music Man, sad doesn’t really need to be found because the plot with the boy’s band is strong enough as it is. But I feel that some of Miriam’s songs can be interpreted as sad but in the end, I think that they are hopeful over sad.

        Like

Leave a Reply

