Favorite Lead Characters that are not Protagonists in Musicals

This will be a list of some of my favorite leading characters in the world of musicals that are not the main characters. I will include a few supporting characters as well.

  1. Eponine
  2. Enjolras
  3. Young Cosette
  4. All the barricade boys
  5. Fantine
  6. Gavroche
  7. Fiyero
  8. Crutchie
  9. Davey
  10. Les
  11. All the other Newsies
  12. Katherine Plumber
  13. Catherine
  14. Theo
  15. Von Trapp Children
  16. Molly and the other orphans from Annie
  17. Daddy Warbucks
  18. Sandy-yes I just included a dog
  19. Riff
  20. Bernardo

Well without any of these characters, it would make the story feel kind of flat in a way. They help with the main character’s storyline. I know I did not include any antagonists or villains, but they are usually some of my least favorite characters even some do fascinate me in way, which are the more complex ones.

Even though the storylines either revolve around one or two characters, the storyline wouldn’t feel complete without the other leading characters. The most fascinating plots in my opinion are usually not simple, but instead complex or they are based on real events with a few exceptions. Even the best characters are complex, but there are a few exceptions.

 

Author: mphadventuregirl

I am a strong spiritual person who is a big fan of musicals. This blog deals with spirituality and musicals. I am finding that by writing about these, I am realizing I know more about each of them then I think I do. I hope you find my blog inspiring!

17 thoughts on “Favorite Lead Characters that are not Protagonists in Musicals”

      1. I want to say its the music. I find it hard to even care about the antagonists or villains. But there is only one show I have learned to care something about them in that musical: Les Mis

        Like

      2. I cannot wait to discover all of these characters when I read Oliver Twist over the summer. I am especially looking forward to it because the inspiration for Les Mis came from the musical Oliver. The composer or the lyricist saw a production of it and the artful dodger reminded him of Gavroche and that is where the inspiration came from in the first place

        Like

  1. I keep on enjoying reading the classics. Already read Don Quixote, Tale of Two Cities, Great Expectations, and Les Misérables. Now on to Oliver Twist during the summer and planning to even read Hunchback of Notre Dame and Nicholas Nickleby

    Liked by 1 person

    1. All of those are really great books! My favorites from that list are A Tale of Two Cities (the musical adaptation for A Tale of Two Cities is also really good) and Les Miz! I really enjoy reading classics and have never really understood why people think that classics are boring

      Like

      1. Yeah, I guess that’s true. Personally, I’ve always really liked classics because my grandma would always give me an abridged classic when I was younger and now she gives me the full-length classics for my birthday. I guess we kind of bonded over them

        Like

      2. I grew up on one classic, A Christmas Carol. For the longest time ever, my family would always watch that movie. It was the one classic story I ever knew about. Than Les Misérables was next and because my dad knew I loved Les Mis, he recommended I read Tale of Two Cities because it takes place during the French Revolution, which is connected to that musical in a way. After enjoying Tale of Two Cities, I knew I wanted to read more Dickens and the next one that is Dickens that I read was Great Expectations. I wanted to review Great Expectations on this blog, but didn’t know why I liked it, which is why I did not review it

        Before Great Expectations, I became interested in Don Quixote. Well in Spanish class, I had to do a presentation and we had to pick from a select list and no student could pick the same one. I decided to do Don Quixote and fell in love with the character the moment I found out he was a tragicomic character. That was the first time I heard I character being described as tragicomic and was fun getting to explore. Out of that project, I wanted to read the book and read it this past summer. I did as a matter of fact watch the movie of Man of La Mancha and enjoyed it.

        As far as Oliver Twist, Hunchback, and Nicholas Nickelby goes, I am going to read those. It took a lot of convincing to even want to read Hunchback because I don’t know if I wanted to read another book interrupted with boring history lessons. My dad recommended I read Nicholas someday. Don’t know what made me eventually have the urge to read Oliver Twist and Oliver Twist is on the next on the list I am reading.

        Like

      3. The Hunchback of Notre Dame can be one torturous book to get through. I’ve put it on my Did-Not-Finish shelf on Goodreads several times but finally finished it last summer. It takes a while to get into but I am glad that I read it. A Christmas Carol is probably my favorite of Dickens’s works, followed closely by A Tale of Two Cities. My favorite classic, though, is The Picture of Dorian Gray by Oscar Wilde. The plot is pretty unique and it has been one of my favorite books since I was in eighth grade!

        Like

      4. I have read Victor Hugo before. Reading Les Misérables was a really tough read especially when I attempted the unabridged. But my love of the musical is what kept me going. Being familiar with one Victor Hugo book might help me get through Hunchback

        Like

      5. Yeah, that’s possible! I knew that I wanted to read the story so that was finally enough for me to kick myself hard enough to finally finish reading it. It was probably the most frustrating classic for me to read but I am glad that I finally did it. I know that my dad really enjoyed it and was always shocked that it took me so long to finish it. I guess it’s kinda hit-and-miss? I hope to give it another try soon but my TBR for this year is so big that I don’t know if I’ll get to it anytime soon

        Like

Leave a Reply

