Importance of Doing Things Outside Your Comfort Zone

One of the things I still struggle with is doing things outside my comfort zone and that comfort zone is so small. But while being a student in college, I am truly learning the importance of why that is so important. Doing things outside your comfort helps create courage and helps you learn to truly live in the moment. I feel like I have had to do things outside my comfort zone a couple of times in college.

I have had to become leaders and I have always seen myself as a follower. I have become a leader of a social group I am a part of and become a peer mentor. Little did I know the benefits they would have later on. I have officially become president of my club, which is struggling this year. They are basically my family and this semester all the officers have left and no one was quite willing to step up in order to be an officer. I did decide to step up and be an officer because of how much I love the club. There is one quote in Newsies that I have taken to heart, which is “Courage cannot erase our fear, courage is when we face our fear”, which is so true and that quote even helped me step up. Even the other leadership roles helped me decide to become an office. I was actually planning to become secretary, but became president instead. The club convinced me to be president because of all eligible officers, I knew Campus Civitan the most.

So, sometimes doing things outside your comfort zone helps you develop. It helps you become a better person. It helps you test your limits and helps you deal with challenge. It shows that your are stronger than you believe. Based on the example above, I have done things outside my comfort zone before. But it can be scaring, but facing your fears is important in life. Life is beautiful, but fragile and short. You need to truly live in the moment and doing things outside your comfort zone is one of the things that helps you do that.

Author: mphadventuregirl

I am a strong spiritual person who is a big fan of musicals. This blog deals with spirituality and musicals. I am finding that by writing about these, I am realizing I know more about each of them then I think I do. I hope you find my blog inspiring!

4 thoughts on “Importance of Doing Things Outside Your Comfort Zone”

Leave a Reply

