Wrap-up of Les Mis Character Analysis

Major Spoilers:

For the past couple of days I have been analyzing the Les Mis characters. The ones I analyzed are Jean Valjean (protagonist), Javert (antagonist), Fantine, Cosette, Marius, Eponine, the Thenardiers, Enjolras, the students, and Gavroche. These memorable characters are one of the biggest reasons why this musical is so successful. These analysis’ shows how interlocked their lives are. It shows how they directly and indirectly they affect each others lives. They all belong in Les Mis because something no good happens to every single one of them. Most of them die by the end of Les Mis and the only survivors are Marius, Cosette, and the Thenardiers.

Below I will give a few adjectives to describe the characters. If I put an arrow, it shows if their personality changes.

Jean Valjean: bitter, harsh, angry> compassionate, merciful, forgiving

unknown

Javert: obsessive, strict

unknown

Fantine: loving, heartbreaking, tragic

images

Cosette: broken>curious, romantic, considerate, hopeful

les-miserables-australia-2014-euan-doidge-emily-langridge

Marius: revolutionary, romantic, compassionate, kind

unknown

Eponine: spoiled> loving, lonely, neglected, unloved, brave, fearless

images-1

Thenardiers: abusive, greedy, selfish, cruel, unloving

unknown-1

Enjolras and students-passionate, brothers, Enjolras (leader)

unknown

images-1

Gavroche: brave, heroic

unknown

There is a reason why all of these characters are so loved. It is very hard to pick a favorite even though I love some more than others. As for the females, my favorite is Eponine and have no idea why. These characters are quite complex and you feel like you get to know them. They are so important and though most may die, most die not alone, but with somebody like Valjean being by Fantine’s side when she dies or Eponine dying in Marius’ arms.

What are your thoughts on the Les Mis characters

 

Author: mphadventuregirl

I am a strong spiritual person who is a big fan of musicals. This blog deals with spirituality and musicals. I am finding that by writing about these, I am realizing I know more about each of them then I think I do. I hope you find my blog inspiring!

6 thoughts on “Wrap-up of Les Mis Character Analysis”

  1. Really enjoyed reading the adjectives that you chose to describe each of the characters you analyzed. I think that they were really fitting. I love all of the characters in Les Miz. They all have something so unique, special, and endearing about them. As a writer I hope to be able to write characters as well-rounded and complex as Victor Hugo’s characters.

    Like

      1. I definitely agree. For the most part, I’d say that I do at least like most of the characters in Les Miz but there are definitely some that I care more about than others. I think the great thing about Les Miz is that it is both highly character and plot driven.

        Like

      2. I strongly believe that the songs strongly support both the characters and the plot. The songs, characters, and plot all have to work together. When all of them are just incredible, it makes a musical so worth it

        Like

Leave a Reply

